Release Spotlight: Daughter of a Thousand Years by Amalia Carosella

Monday, February 27, 2017



Greenland, AD 1000

More than her fiery hair marks Freydís as the daughter of Erik the Red; her hot temper and fierce pride are as formidable as her Viking father’s. And so, too, is her devotion to the great god Thor, which puts her at odds with those in power—including her own brother, the zealous Leif Eriksson. Determined to forge her own path, she defies her family’s fury and clings to her dream of sailing away to live on her own terms, with or without the support of her husband.

New Hampshire, 2016

Like her Icelandic ancestors, history professor Emma Moretti is a passionate defender of Norse mythology. But in a small town steeped in traditional values, her cultural beliefs could jeopardize both her academic career and her congressman father’s reelection. Torn between public expectation and personal identity, family and faith, she must choose which to honor and which to abandon.

In a dramatic, sweeping dual narrative that spans a millennium, two women struggle against communities determined to silence them, but neither Freydís nor Emma intends to give up without a fight.


Genre: historical fiction, timeslip
Series: N/A
Pages: 442
Published: expected February 2017


Pre-Order 

 Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

About the Author

Amalia Carosella graduated from the University of North Dakota with a bachelors degree in Classical Studies and English. An avid reader and former bookseller, she writes about old heroes and older gods. She lives with her husband in upstate New York and dreams of the day she will own goats (and maybe even a horse, too). For more information, visit her blog at www.amaliacarosella.com.
She also writes myth-steeped fantasy and paranormal romance under the name Amalia Dillin. Learn more about her other works at www.amaliadillin.com.
You can connect with Amalia Carosella on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and Google+. Sign up for her newsletter, The Amaliad, for news and updates.

 

Blog Tour Schedule

Thursday, February 16
Review at Let Them Read Books

Friday, February 17
Review at Just One More Chapter

Sunday, February 19
Review at Carole’s Ramblings

Monday, February 20
Review at 100 Pages a Day

Tuesday, February 21
Review at Oh, for the Hook of a Book!

Wednesday, February 22
Review at Book Nerd

Thursday, February 23
Interview at Yelena Casale’s Blog

Monday, February 27
Spotlight at Ageless Pages Reviews

Tuesday, February 28
Review at A Bookish Affair

Wednesday, March 1
Review at The Maiden’s Court

Thursday, March 2
Spotlight at Laura’s Interests

Friday, March 3
Spotlight at Passages to the Past

Monday, March 6
Review at Luxury Reading

Tuesday, March 7
Interview at Books, Dreams, Life

Thursday, March 9
Review at History From a Woman’s Perspective

Friday, March 10
Review at CelticLady’s Reviews
Review & Interview at WTF Are You Reading?





Review: Game of Shadows by Erika Lewis

Saturday, February 25, 2017
Title: Game of Shadows
Author: Erika Lewis
Genre: fantasy
Series: N/A
Pages: 400
Published: expected February 28 2017
Source: finished copy for review from publisher
Rating: 3/5

Ethan Makkai thought that seeing ghosts was the worst of his problems. Between his ethereal gift and life with a single mother hell-bent on watching his every move, he feels imprisoned. When Ethan sees a chance to escape, to leave the house by himself for the first time in his life, he seizes it, unaware that this first taste of freedom will cost him everything.

Ethan is thrown into a strange and eerie world, like nothing he's ever seen. He's assaulted by dive-bombing birds and rescued by a stranger who claims to be his bodyguard. His apartment is trashed, and his mother is kidnapped to a place Ethan never knew existed—a hidden continent called Tara.

Travelling to Tara in search of his mother, Ethan discovers that everything he knows about his life is a lie. His mother is royalty. His father is not dead. His destiny is likely to get him killed.

Confronted by a vicious sorcerer determined to destroy the Makkai family, Ethan must garner strength from his gift and embrace his destiny if he’s going to save his mother and all the people of Tara, including the beautiful girl he’s fallen for.

Erika Lewi's debut novel is a fun young adult ride. Though occasionally uneven in execution, Game of Shadows more than makes for a good read with its ambition and solid storytelling. There's a lot going on from the first page; it's full of monsters and ghosts, family secrets and assassinations, hidden continents and ancient kingdoms. First in series, this is an inventive blend of a several genres (portal fantasy/supernatural) in one novel, and contains worldbuilding and magic systems that are definitely unique, though both based on/inspired by Celtic mythology. Action-packed and high adventure, even the book's missteps are forgivable considered the sheer amount of entertainment offered by Ethan's storyline.

While some of the plot twists in Game of Shadows left me with questions occasionally -- how did Ethan never notice Bartlett before that day if he's been there the whole time? etc -- Lewis writes creatively and uses her Celtic influences cleverly. Her plotting is mostly sound though not free of the ccasional clarity issue, and the pacing can be uneven. There are a few genre tropes to be found in its pages and Game of Shadows is not always able to avoid the pitfalls of predictability (Christian's role, especially, is no suprise). The largest strength of the story lies with the hidden world of Tara itself. Given the large amounts of info and detail, there is no surprise that every part of it, from Landover to Kilkerry feels solidly built. Lewis's characters are also interesting, but they aren't as well-developed as the other aspects of the novel. In particular, the main character of Ethan sometimes makes dumb decisions for plot reasons, and can also read as older or younger than his given age most of the time. 

The ending of Game of Shadows manages to be intriguing and satisfying, while still obviously geared toward creating the plot of a sequel to come. The events of the book were prologue to a larger struggle with Ethan's various enemies, sure to be explored further with this new threat looming. This first novel was very much Ethan's story as a young hero; his introduction to Tara is only the launchpoint of further complications and growth. Though his chief antagonist lacks the menace really needed to feel like a threat, the author has a lot of potential to explore in the world and customs of Tara and its diverse, magical countries.







Two Minute Reviews: Graphic Novel Edition

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Back so soon? After my last mini-review round up, I realized I've been on another major comics tear. I reread the volume ones for The Wicked & The Divine and Bitch Planet, I continued on a few of my regular series, and gave some highly rated ones a try. But what you really want to know is, "are 90s DC comics as racist as I remember?" Read on my loves!


Princeless Vol. 5: Make Yourself by Jeremy Whitley - ★★★★★

Another excellent addition to the expanding Princeless Universe. As I'd mentioned in Vol. 3, I was a bit disappointed to see the book being shelved as LGBT for one side character. Raven's fantastic and her standalone - love - but I was hoping for something in the actual text. This volume introduces us to a pair of canonically lesbian dwarf warriors, including a glorious flashback to their first meeting. They have a daughter. I love them. (It's becoming pretty clear that Adrienne is also not het, but since that's not cannon yet, I'm still a little wary of shelving this as LGBT.) The volume also includes a really great mini story on "good" hair in the black community and Adrienne's struggle with not feeling as beautiful as Angelica, but the highlight of the book is when Bedelia is reunited with her "Groggy" and is forced to confront her fears of her grandfather's sexism.


Robin Vol. 1: Reborn by - ★★☆☆☆

Jesus christ, I can't believe DC re-released this in 2015 without so much as an editor's note. This book is racist. Comprised of three arcs, not one of them isn't horribly problematic. This wasn't ok in the 90s; it's inexcusable today.

Tim Drake's introduction as an antithesis to the previous Robins is good. He hearkens back to Batman's own origins as an actual detective. He has no fight training and on the heels of Jason's death, Bruce struggles with letting anyone, much less an untrained kid, take up the mantle. Rewrite that part, abandon literally everything about the drug trade and Haitian slaves and hoodoo. Obeah Man. Good lord. Not that it's much better when Robin travels to Paris to learn a lost form of martial arts from a monk and ends up in a Chinese gang war with Lady Shiva. As with all Batman stories, Robin is a complete mess until the last 10 pages where he saves Batman with his teenager-ness and Bruce gives a grudging acknowledgement. Skip this.


Paper Girls, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan - ★★★

Brian K. Vaughan follows his award winning space opera, Saga with a story he calls "Stand By Me" meets "War of the Worlds". The story starts with Erin, a 12-year-old newspaper delivery girl in an idylic little town outside Cleveland in 1988. She meets up with three other paper girls, Mac, Kaje, and Tiffany after some post-Halloween troublemakers hassle her on her rounds. Soon everyone in town, less the girls and a few stragglers have disappeared. The Rapture? Aliens? Time travel war between adults and teenagers? One of those, yes.

Problems with Paper Girls: the girls are not 12. They don't look 12. They don't act 12. I have a 12-year-old niece. First, I would literally murder her if she acted like Mac. Second, these girls smoke, curse, drive cars, and fire guns. If you want them to be 16, just make them be 16. Even 14 I could buy. 12. Please. 

Second problem: the "f" slur is used. AIDs is used as an insult. Homosexuals are called perverts. It's all condemned by Mac's peers and the future couple shrug it off as "you guys are from an effed-up time", but I Don't Care. Especially when you then kill the gays. I expect better from Vaughan. I liked the book, it ends on a neat cliff-hanger, I'll read the next one, but now I have to look askance at an author I thought was better.


Archie, Vol. 1: The New Riverdale by Mark Waid- ★★★☆☆

A strange thing has happened in the last five years. Archie Comics, long known for being the g-rated books in the comic store, has quietly stepped into the progressive sphere, sparking controversy and boycotts for it's openly gay characters and messages on gun control. The company is enjoying a popularity surge not seen since the 1960s, including now a new CW show.

I decided to seek out the 2015 Archie reboot after seeing some panels from "the lipstick incident" on Tumblr. It's a powerful scene, where the typically tomboyish Betty dresses up for a date. Rather than admire her effort, Archie scoffs at her, decrying "this isn't you".


Unfortunately, these four panels are where the great ends. The set-up to this incident is a group of Archie's fans(?) giving Betty a makeover because they got caught talking shit about her. Betty shows no interest in it, which makes the eventual confrontation less about Betty's choice to change. Same with her getting done up for her birthday party - it's not Betty's idea and only something she does with reluctance. So then why aren't Betty and Archie dating? He was an ass, but this isn't Betty. The event that drove them apart doesn't stand up to scrutiny.

I don't hate the collection, but I don't enjoy it either. Maybe it's because I didn't read Archie comics growing up, so I lack the nostalgia factor, but the story lines are retreads we've seen in a hundred other teen books, shows, and movies and the characters aren't interesting. I'm particularly confused by Jughead who seems apathetic and boring. He's not a good friend. I know people are upset about the erasure of his sexuality in the tv series, but I thought the "asexuals only like food" stereotype was one we were trying to get away from and as that is literally his only defining personality trait... In Veronica, the book wants to have its cake and eat it too. She's a snob and a bully and she's using Archie, but she's sad and confused by being the new kid and really likes him. It doesn't make her feel nuanced, just narratively confused.





Pretty Deadly, Vol. 1: The Shrike by Kelly Sue DeConnick - ★★★

I love Kelly Sue DeConnick. I would read the back of a cereal box if her twitter said she wrote it. So even though I'm not generally one of westerns, it was a foregone conclusion I would pick up Pretty Deadly.

I haven't the faintest idea what I just read.

From part one, when the world building is delivered via a song within a story within the story, this is not an easy novel. The character connections are confusing and though the art is beautiful, the fight scenes are cluttered and ambiguous. It's also a pretty hard R with a lot of blood and gore as well as nudity.

Sissy, the girl in the vulture cloak, and Fox, an old blind man, travel the west telling the story of Ginny, daughter of Death. Before the end of the first comic, it's clear that this isn't just a song. Ginny's left her father's realm and is pursued by Big Alice, another supernatural gunslinger. They're pursuing Sissy for an item she picked off Johnny, a seemingly human scoundrel, though his connection to a talking crow leaves me questioning that. The last act, which reveals the connections between everyone, felt absurdly rushed, especially compared to the previous parts.

I didn't like the book very much, but I am intrigued. I'll give the second book a try, but if the plotting doesn't smooth out, I won't be trying a third.

Top Ten Books I Loved Less Than I Thought I Would

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Top Ten Tuesday is all thanks to The Broke and the Bookish! This lovely header is thanks to APR's own Dani.

Expectations can be a bitch. Sometimes I get SUPER excited for a book, wait for months, let the anticipation build, finally buy/get it.... and then it does not live up to the wait. Thankfully that doesn't happen too often -- I've gotten better at avoiding the hype machine and also learning which authors to trust -- but it does/did happen. Here are some books that taught me how.


1. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
So it turns out no one tells the story of nonChosen Ones because those stories are really fucking boring.

2. Flamecaster by Cinda Williams Chima (The Shattered Realms #1)
HOW YOU GOING TO PLAY ME LIKE THAT CWC? You know what I mean.

3. Splintered by A.G. Howard (Splintered #1)
Problematic, cliched, AND boring? Cover fraud to the extreme. I really don't know how this spawned so many sequels but at least it's nice to look at the covers.

4. Crewel by Gennifer Albin (Crewel World #1)
This. Book. Made. No. Sense.

5. House of Shadows by Rachel Neumeier
Such an excellent premise and a gorgeous cover. This wasn't bad by any means but I know it could have been so much better.





6. The Last Romanov by Dora Levy Mossanen
This book made 330 pages feel like 500.

7. Ink by Amanda Sun (Paper Gods #1)
Not tbad but the premise deserved better than a hackneyed love triangle suffocating any real plot.

8. Premeditated by Josin McQuein
I don't know how the author took such an excellent premise and ground it down into blah and predictable but it happened.

9. Polaris by Mindy McGinnis (Avalon #2)
This proves that sometimes a good thing should just stay a standalone and not be extended into a series.

10. The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron
I could not even finish this and all of her other books have been four stars or better! I was very sad.




Two Minute Review: A Lie for A Lie by Robin Merrow MacReady

Monday, February 20, 2017
Title: A Lie for A Lie
Author: Robin Merrow MacReady
Genre: mystery, thriller
Series: N/A
Pages: 208
Published: expected February 28 2017
Source: publishers via NetGalley
Rating: 1/5

A gripping YA mystery about seventeen-year-old Kendra, an amateur photographer who discovers her father is leading a double life.

Kendra Sullivan loves taking pictures. But when a photograph reveals that her father is leading a double life, she sets out to investigate the situation. Before long, Kendra discovers her father's second family, which he has hidden for years. Kendra's knowledge soon turns into power; she is torn between exposing her father and destroying her family as she's known it, or looking deeper for the truth and suffering that outcome. This emotionally charged mystery pushes the boundaries between truth and deception, and the consequences one faces when dealing with life-changing information.

The premise for A Lie for A Lie is attention-grabbing and unique -- which is why it's such a shame that book shares neither of those two traits. The main character of Kendra faces a tough situation with her father/family situation and the chance to really grow up while handling it. However, this is a stunted, very rushed novel that exchanges emotion and honesty for a simple and easy ending. The potential for more is left unfulfilled or unexplored, and this YA thriller ends up shallow and silly.

This book is rather disappointing in several ways, both big and small. For one, it's too short to make any real impact -- less than 215 pages to create realistic characters and storylines? Secondly, (and a direct result of the first issue) the characters all lack depth and the ability to evoke empathy. Even Kendra is under-developed and deliberately facile. The plot is handled with bluntly or dispassionately, despite the supposedly dramatic subject matter. Unpolished and simplistic across the board, at least A Lie for A Lie is over quickly.





Review: Love is Love anthology

Sunday, February 19, 2017

Title: Love Is Love
Author: Anthology
Genre: Graphic Novel
Series: N/A
Pages: 144
Published: December 28, 2016
Source: Borrowed Library
Rating: 1/5
The comic industry comes together in honor of those killed in Orlando. Co-published by two of the premiere publishers in comics—DC and IDW, this oversize comic contains moving and heartfelt material from some of the greatest talent in comics, mourning the victims, supporting the survivors, celebrating the LGBTQ community, and examining love in today’s world. All material has been kindly donated by the writers, artists, and editors with all proceeds going to victims, survivors, and their families. Be a part of an historic comics event! It doesn’t matter who you love. All that matters is you love.
This anthology, released by IDW in conjunction with DC in the wake of the Pulse Nightclub shooting in Orlando is the definition of empty allyship. From the very cover, where a canonically straight Wonder Woman* leads a brightly colored and adoring parade of safe queers and adorable poppets, where the only visible sign reads, "I love my lesbian daughter", the entire product is aimed at making the shooting palatable to straight people.

*Have artists portrayed Diana as trans or bi? Yes. Has DC acknowledged this a permanent part of her mythos? Of course not,

We're then confronted with the introduction, written by Patty Jenkins, a straight woman who once directed a movie about a lesbian. She proceeds to word vomit a long, rambling story about serial killer Aileen Wuornos and how she found acceptance in the Florida gay community, so Patty herself feels a kinship towards them.  And then, and then!
Second, because it appears more clear all the time that the perpetrator of the Pulse shooting was himself struggling with his own sexuality and the same kind of homophobia, xenophobia, and cycle of violence that created Aileen Wuornos. Everything about that circle pains my heart.
It pain your heart? Do you know how often the LGBT+ community is told that those who perpetrated violence against us are really just closeted? It is a disgusting tactic used to put the onus back on us for our own victimization. It creates an "us vs them" separation for cishet people to hide behind, making crime an intra-community issue and not worthy of mainstream attention and resources. Furthermore, there is no proof that Omar Mateen was gay and that is not becoming "more clear all the time". What he was was an abusive, four time failed cop who shouldn't have had a gun in the first place. But as one comic mentions, it seems IDW wanted to keep the book "non-political" and "positive" so, we're left with useless poems and endless rainbow flags to cover the real issue.

The book itself mostly consists of single page comics and full page splashes. Some like "Fly" by Joe Kelly are mostly harmless platitudes along the same lines of "It Gets Better".  Some, like an unnamed page by Joshua Hale Fialkov are full of the same kind of faux allyship demonstrated in the introduction.
Thank you wise plotMoppet for teaching us queers to appreciate BlueLives
If it speaks to any LGBT+ youth, I won't say the book is worthless, but nothing groundbreaking is within these pages. Those who belong to the community already know our love is valid and strong. Those outside the community either won't be swayed by such brief, trite little messages or are already patting themselves on the back for being good allies and buying the book. No matter what, I can't get a handle on who this was written for. What I will call worthless is the story "Thoughts and Prayers: A Confession" by Jeff Jensen. This two page call for absolution tells of how the author heard of the shooting and planned to call his reps but then forgot so "all [he does] is bring it before the Lord...and leave it there". Why in God's name would you write that? Should I forgive you for not calling your gay friends to check on them? For not writing a check to the survivors GFM? For recognizing this failure and not course correcting? All because you took the time to write and donate 225 words to an anthology months later? Guess what, Jeff Jensen, this queer bitch is not your confessor and you are not forgiven,

The makers of this book seem to have forgotten there are other letters beyond L and G. The cover features a man in a "trans men are men shirt" and another character in a trans flag colored top. One group story 1/3 of the way through the book features a masculine looking character trying to buy a dress, and Emma Houxbois' page is about a trans woman. That's about it, if I don't count the story of a man deadnaming his daughter-in-law at her wedding. (Spoiler, I fucking don't.) There's a line about "axesuals [sic] pretending, joking about having sex..." in a larger story about sex noises and staying out of others bedrooms? Whatever. I broke it down for you below:

Stories centered on:
L - 11.5
G - 25
B - 0
T - 3
Q - 0
I - 0
A- 0
Mixed Groups - 10
Allies explaining homophobia to kids - 9
Straight people w/hurt feelings - 8
GUNS - 5
Animals? There are more stories about animals than trans people? - 3

As for the DC content? Paul Dini provides seven panels of Harley and Ivy, which I go back and forth on as representation. Their relationship was queerbait and fannon for a long time, but I do see more artists using it as the accepted backstory so. There is a two page Batman story which needs a massive trigger warning, as Batman goes inside the club and investigates the dead bodies while searching for a motive. Of course, this is a real life event and there isn't one and it's super exploitative, including 911 transcripts, and I think less of Marc Guggenheim, Brent Peeples, Chris Sotomayor, and John Roshell for writing and illustrating it. Batwoman, one of the few cannon lesbians in comics, makes several appearances. Deathstroke gets a page that might be supposed to be humorous? where he throws out his guns and vows to use karate after watching the news of the shooting. Superman and Supergirl also get in on the action, used as metaphors for how accepting humanity can be. None of it's worth anything. Superheroes can absolutely be a filter to explain the world at large, and one story almost gets it as a golden age villain breaks the fourth wall to explain how harmful his gay affectations and eventual death at the hands of an AIDS metaphor were, but what does Bizarro flying around saying:


actually mean? He doesn't learn to "hate that hate", he goes back to saying nonsense. There has to be a reason to include these recognizable figures besides just name value.

This anthology is a disaster. It's nothing more than a blatant back pat from a bunch of straight white men in an industry that has long abhorred our community. It's not for us. I'm sorry for the few LGBT+ artists and writers who got roped into this obvious Kill Your Gays fetish porn.

Review: The Dragon's Price by Bethany Wiggins

Saturday, February 18, 2017
Title: The Dragon's Price
Author: Bethany Wiggins
Genre: fantasy
Series: Transference #1
Pages: 304
Published: February 21 2017
Source: publishers via NetGalley
Rating: 3/5

When two warring kingdoms unified against a deadly menace laying waste to both their lands, they had to make a choice: vow to marry their heirs to one another, or forfeit their lives to the dragon.

Centuries later, everyone expects the sheltered princess Sorrowlynn to choose the barbarian prince over the fire-breathing beast—everyone, that is, except Sorrow, who is determined to control her own destiny or die trying.

As she is lowered into the dragon’s chamber, she assumes her life is over until Golmarr, the young prince she just spurned, follows her with the hopes of being her hero and slaying the dragon. But the dragon has a different plan. . . .

If the dragon wins, it will be freed from the spell that has bound it to the cave for centuries. If Sorrow or Golmarr vanquish the dragon, the victor will gain its treasure and escape the cave beneath the mountain. But what exactly is the dragon hiding?

There are no safe havens for Sorrow or Golmarr—not even with each other—and the stakes couldn’t be higher as they risk everything to protect their kingdom.

The Dragon's Price is a YA fantasy with a great premise, and boasts a fresh approach to worldbuilding and unique lore. It's fun and fast to read, though unfortunately the overall plot is somewhat easy to anticipate and the characters are rather basically drawn. Despite the few flaws in its short pages, there's more to like than dislike in Bethany Wiggin's latest novel. The story is entertaining despite its admittedly predictable nature. Sorrowlynn's story is full of the usual fantasy hallmarks (lots of traveling! Threatening dragons!), but this experienced author throws plenty of her own ideas/twists into the narrative.

For the most part, I liked the various characters at play in The Dragon's Price. This is a series opener so there's more potential than proof so far. Sorrowlynn, the would-be sacrificial princess, is the best defined as the main character, but she is the exception and sadly not the rule. Her "barbarian" counterpart of Golmarr is somewhat less developed than his love interest, though his personality deepens the longer the two are together. Their romance is as expected as it is well-handled; it might be a bit fast-paced but given the nature of their circumstances.... I find myself more forgiving of how quickly their bond is established. 

The strongest idea in the novel lies in the title and its unique meaning. Bethany Wiggins has created a total fresh new idea for what the phrase "dragon's treasure" would mean in her invented world and uses it smartly. I love the way she adapted a fantasy staple into something new and a natural fit for her storyline. The premise and overarching threat lends itself to sustaining the sequels well, too -- there will be plenty of time and opportunity for the other dragons to search out Sorrowlynn and use their unique powers. 

This is a solid young adult fantasy novel. The inventive approach to old genre staples keeps even the predictable elements fun, and the romance is promising. An entertaining beginning to a new series, The Dragon's Price is solid start.





Lunar New Year Book Tag

Friday, February 17, 2017


lunar-new-year-book-tag-horizontal-banner

Hello all! As some of you may know, Sat, Jan 28, 2017 is Lunar New Year. Happy Year of the Rooster!
 
Millions of people around the world celebrate Lunar New Year, mostly in Asian cultures.
To celebrate the Year of the Rooster this year, Tiffany (Mostly YA Lit) teamed up with Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts (the King of Book Tags) to bring you the Lunar New Year Book Tag! 

Here’s the deal: like in Western astrology, Chinese culture has it’s own zodiac, based on the year you were born and a corresponding animal. There are 12 animal signs and they each represent different personalities. We’ve created a book tag based on those.

Which Chinese zodiac animal you are?

  • Click over here for list of dates. Match up your birthday to the corresponding year, and that’s your animal.
  • Or if you’re good at math, try this handy trick from TravelChinaGuide.com: Divide your year of birth by 12 and read the remainder. If the number of the year can be divided with no remainder, take the remainder as zero. Each remainder corresponds to an animal sign. 

0: Monkey 1: Rooster 2: Dog 3: Pig
4: Rat 5: Ox 6: Tiger 7: Rabbit
8: Dragon 9: Snake 10: Horse 11: Sheep


Got it? You can read more about the different signs here, or below in each of the graphics!
Without further adieu, I present you…

The Lunar New Year Book Tag

cny-zodiac-book-tag-rooster-myal-banner


Dani: OATHBREAKER

Jessie: Without a doubt Laini Taylor's Strange the Dreamer. I have been anticipating this book for forever and it's nearly here! Nothing else comes close to the level of excitement I have for this book. I mean I have it preordered from two different places?


cny-zodiac-book-tag-dog


Jessie: I tend to reread books that make me feel intensely.... sometimes that means happy feelings (Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins), sometimes sad feelings (Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein), and sometimes a mix of both (Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta).


Dani: I think anyone who knows me can guess, but my comfort books are Harry Potter, specifically numbers 1-3

cny-zodiac-book-tag-pig


Dani: I'm not a huge book collector, but I did spend more than $100 on the 1970s Super Dictionary, better known to the internet as the book where Lex Luther steals forty cakes. That's as many as four tens. And that's terrible.

Jessie:  lol my wedding? Just kidding! I tend to be pretty frugal so my bookish buys are prints under $20 or collector's editions. So maybe.. the first edition hardcover I bought of Silksinger? I don't regret it, though.


cny-zodiac-book-tag-rat


Jessie: Hmmm... Taylor Jenkins Reid? Amalia Carosella? Both are good and both need to be read more widely. Also: BRIAN STAVELEY. He's not exactly an unknown but damnit more people need to read The Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne.

Dani: I'm really surprised Jeremy Whitley's Princeless hasn't made more waves in the community. It's the book I wish I had a time machine to go back and give to our fourth grade selves.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-ox-mostly-ya-lit


Dani: The Baudelaire orphans from A Series of Unfortunate Events. I always loved how the three kept moving forward and seeing the good in people.

Jessie: Ella from Ella Enchanted! One of the many many reasons I loved her as a kid and continue to love her as an adult.


cny-zodiac-book-tag-tiger-mostly-ya-lit-banner


Jessie: Please go read The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas as soon as you can. That book is powerful and honest and painful.

 Dani: Jess stole my answer so I'm going to say all of Jennifer Mathieu's books, but mostly just go buy THUG


cny-zodiac-book-tag-rabbit-mostly-ya-lit-banner


Jessie: This is my sign! :) And, as always, my answer for this is Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta.

Dani: I'm also a rabbit. An older rabbit. A wiser rabbit? A romance-ier rabbit? I pick Steph Perkins' French Kiss series. All three are the epitome of sweet romances.


cny-zodiac-book-tag-dragon-mostly-ya-lit


Jessie: How about my newest favorite nonfiction --- Rejected Princesses! It's not all royalty but there are some. Mostly it features badass women from history! With cartoons!

Dani: Going back to Princeless for this one. The story of a damsel in distress who saves herself from a tower and sets off to rescue her sisters, with side plots about the prince and queen and their gender defying talents.


cny-zodiac-book-tag-snake-myal


Dani: Thinking YA, the first name that comes to mind is Cara from Alienated. It's not often we get to see a female prog be manipulative and ruthless in pursuit of her dreams and I think that's why this series sticks with me even as the author moves on.

Jessie: Gonna have to go with the entire A Song of Ice and Fire series -- is there a more manipulative fuck than Petyrphile-- I mean Petyr Baelish?


cny-zodiac-book-tag-horse-myal


Jessie:  Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. A short slight book that makes so many points -- emotionally, logically -- and then just.. ends.

Dani: Last Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig. Though, what if not standalone, Caleb? What if NOT?


cny-zodiac-book-tag-sheep-myal


Dani:

Jessie: I love the cover design for Sisters Red but I will never ever read it.




cny-zodiac-book-tag-monkey-myal

Jessie: HOID from the Cosmere! I mean he plays a deeper role than just comic relief but damn that man is a snarky bastard. See also: Wayne from the Mistborn second era books. Wayne is perfection.

Dani: Keeping the Sanderson theme, my answer is Syl and Rock from The Way of Kings/ Words of Radiance. 


Since this is a book tag,  and anyone else who wants to play. Instructions and downloads below. 
Thanks for checking out our Lunar New Year Book Tag! Are you guys celebrating Chinese or Lunar New Year? What are your traditions? What are your thoughts on my picks?



&

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Copyright © 2015 Ageless Pages Reviews. All Rights Reserved.

Amelia Theme by The Lovely Design CO and These Paper Hearts.