Two Minute Review: The Secret of a Heart Note by Stacey Lee

Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Title: The Secret of a Heart Note
Author: Stacey Lee
Genre: contemporary, magical realsim
Series: N/A
Pages: 384
Published: expected December 27 2016
Source: publishers via edelweiss
Rating: 3.5/5

An evocative novel about a teen aroma expert who uses her extrasensitive sense of smell to mix perfumes that help others fall in love while protecting her own heart at all costs

Sometimes love is right under your nose. As one of only two aromateurs left on the planet, sixteen-year-old Mimosa knows what her future holds: a lifetime of weeding, mixing love elixirs, and matchmaking—all while remaining incurably alone. For Mim, the rules are clear: falling in love would render her nose useless, taking away her one great talent. Still, Mimosa doesn’t want to spend her life elbow-deep in soil and begonias. She dreams of a normal high school experience with friends, sports practices, debate club, and even a boyfriend. But when she accidentally gives an elixir to the wrong woman and has to rely on the lovesick woman’s son, the school soccer star, to help fix the situation, Mim quickly begins to realize that falling in love isn’t always a choice you can make.

At once hopeful, funny, and romantic, Stacey Lee’s The Secret of a Heart Note is a richly evocative coming-of-age story that gives a fresh perspective on falling in love and finding one’s place in the world.

So this was... a pretty cute story! I hate to damn this magical realism contemporary with faint praise because I actually did like The Secrets of a Heart Note. I just didn't really emotionally connect to the main character of Mim or get strong enough feelings about anything involving her romantic life enough to love it. There's far more to enjoy than otherwise in Stacey Lee's newest YA novel (creativity! strong writing! PoC main characters!), but it lacked the emotional core needed for me to truly invest and engage with the story.

 I think the heart of the issue was that I found the lore and idea of the aromateurs far more interesting and original than the teenage romance that the book focuses on instead. I was far more interested in Mim's growing pains with her mom and her complicated friendship but found less time exploring that than devoted to more generic YA staples. Stacey Lee has a creative angle for the contemporary novel but it feels like more of a crutch to be overcome than a viable element in Mim's world. I was very interested in the bits of information let slip in the narrative but it's far from a complete picture. 



 

Top Ten New-To-Me Authors Read in 2016

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is all thanks to Broke and the Bookish!


I did fairly well at finding new authors this year. Some of them even quickly became favorites and auto-buy authors (No. 1 and No. 10 especially), but there were more than enough to choose from to make a Top Ten. 
  

1. Becky Chambers
The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet and A Closed and Common Orbit


Somewhere within our crowded sky, a crew of wormhole builders hops from planet to planet, on their way to the job of a lifetime. To the galaxy at large, humanity is a minor species, and one patched-up construction vessel is a mere speck on the starchart. This is an everyday sort of ship, just trying to get from here to there.

But all voyages leave their mark, and even the most ordinary of people have stories worth telling. A young Martian woman, hoping the vastness of space will put some distance between herself and the life she‘s left behind. An alien pilot, navigating life without her own kind. A pacifist captain, awaiting the return of a loved one at war.

Set against a backdrop of curious cultures and distant worlds, this episodic tale weaves together the adventures of nine eclectic characters, each on a journey of their own.

  



2. Sharon Shinn
Summers at Castle AuburnMystic and Rider (Twelve Houses #1) and The Thirteenth House (Twelve Houses #2)









 As a child, Coriel Halsing spent many glorious summers at Castle Auburn with her half-sister--and fell in love with a handsome prince who could never be hers. But now that she is a young woman, she begins to see the dark side of this magical place.







3. Sherry Thomas
The Burning Sky, The Perilous Sea, and The Immortal Heights (Elemental Trilogy #1-3)



It all began with a ruined elixir and a bolt of lightning.

Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she's been told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of The Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the most powerful tyrant and mage the world has ever known. This would be a suicide task for anyone, let alone a reluctant sixteen-year-old girl with no training.

Guided by his mother's visions and committed to avenging his family, Prince Titus has sworn to protect Iolanthe even as he prepares her for their battle with the Bane. But he makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the tyrant closing in, Titus must choose between his mission—and her life.

The Burning Sky—the first book in the Elemental Trilogy—is an electrifying and unforgettable novel of intrigue and adventure.

 
 
4. Kelly Zekas & 5. Tarun Shanker
These Vicious Masks (The Vicious Masks #1)

 


England, 1882. Evelyn is bored with society and its expectations. So when her beloved sister, Rose, mysteriously vanishes, she ignores her parents and travels to London to find her, accompanied by the dashing Mr. Kent. But they’re not the only ones looking for Rose. The reclusive, young gentleman Sebastian Braddock is also searching for her, claiming that both sisters have special healing powers. Evelyn is convinced that Sebastian must be mad, until she discovers that his strange tales of extraordinary people are true—and that her sister is in graver danger than she feared.








6. Roshani Choksi
The Star-Touched Queen (The Star-Touched Queen #1)
 

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.



7. Emily Skrutskie
The Abyss Surrounds Us (The Abyss Surrounds Us #1)


 For Cassandra Leung, bossing around sea monsters is just the family business. She’s been a Reckoner trainer-in-training ever since she could walk, raising the genetically-engineered beasts to defend ships as they cross the pirate-infested NeoPacific. But when the pirate queen Santa Elena swoops in on Cas’s first solo mission and snatches her from the bloodstained decks, Cas’s dream of being a full-time trainer seems dead in the water.

There’s no time to mourn. Waiting for her on the pirate ship is an unhatched Reckoner pup. Santa Elena wants to take back the seas with a monster of her own, and she needs a proper trainer to do it. She orders Cas to raise the pup, make sure he imprints on her ship, and, when the time comes, teach him to fight for the pirates. If Cas fails, her blood will be the next to paint the sea.

But Cas has fought pirates her entire life. And she's not about to stop.



8. Jen Malone
Wanderlost



Not all those who wander are lost, but Aubree Sadler most definitely is on this novel’s whirlwind trip through Europe.

Aubree can’t think of a better place to be than in perfectly boring Ohio, and she’s ready for a relaxing summer. But when her older sister, Elizabeth, gets into real trouble, Aubree is talked into taking over Elizabeth’s summer job, leading a group of senior citizens on a bus tour through Europe.

Aubree doesn’t even make it to the first stop in Amsterdam before their perfect plan unravels, leaving her with no phone, no carefully prepared binder full of helpful facts, and an unexpected guest: the tour company owner’s son, Sam. Considering she’s pretending to be Elizabeth, she absolutely shouldn’t fall for him, but she can’t help it, especially with the most romantic European cities as the backdrop for their love story.

But her relationship with Sam is threatening to ruin her relationship with her sister, and she feels like she’s letting both of them down. Aubree knows this trip may show her who she really is—she just hopes she likes where she ends up.


 
"We have calcium in our bones,
iron in our veins,
carbon in our souls,
and nitrogen in our brains.
93 percent stardust,
with souls made of flames.
we are all just stars
that have pe
ople names."


"Some people are born with
tornadoes in their lives,
but constellations in their eyes.
Other people are born with stars at their feet,
but their souls are lost at sea."

"Show me
the most damaged parts of your soul,
and I will show you
how it still shines like gold.

You are a dangerous collection of all my favorite things.

An old soul,
a heart of gold,
and hands that make my body
sing."


10. Brian Staveley
The Emperor's Blades, The Providence of Fire, and The Last Mortal Bond (Chronicles of the Unhewn Throne #1-#3)


The circle is closing. The stakes are high. And old truths will live again . . .

The Emperor has been murdered, leaving the Annurian Empire in turmoil. Now his progeny must bury their grief and prepare to unmask a conspiracy.

His son Valyn, training for the empire’s deadliest fighting force, hears the news an ocean away. He expected a challenge, but after several ‘accidents’ and a dying soldier’s warning, he realizes his life is also in danger. Yet before Valyn can take action, he must survive the mercenaries’ brutal final initiation.

Meanwhile, the Emperor’s daughter, Minister Adare, hunts her father’s murderer in the capital itself. Court politics can be fatal, but she needs justice. And Kaden, heir to an empire, studies in a remote monastery. Here, the Blank God’s disciples teach their harsh ways – which Kaden must master to unlock their ancient powers. When an imperial delegation arrives, he’s learnt enough to perceive evil intent. But will this keep him alive, as long-hidden powers make their move?



 

 

The Office Book Tag

Sunday, December 4, 2016
officebooktag
Credit to: Lindsey from Bring My Books fior creating!

1: A book that you were SO INTO you just could not be bothered by real life

I did nothing


I shut down my life for an afternoon when I read The Hating Game by Sally Thorne for the first time. I didn't mean to... but I started reading and then did not look up, get up, or move until I had finished.

2: A book that had a character you just could NOT get on board with

walk away bitch



Sadly, I had this issue with that main character Britta from Ever the Hunted. I really wanted to like that book but she was a walking YA stereotype. So many cliches and special snowflake status -- I pretty much just ignored her and focused on the rest. Also: Cohen, her love interest and fellow cardboard person.



3: A book that had you running to your nearest bookstore on release day

running

  
Duuuhhh. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. Please know I dragged my husband to three different stores until we found it. I would do it again.

4: A book that was too long and you maybe sort-of probably skimmed (a little)

stop

I tend not to skim -- just DNF that shit, yo -- but I definitely skimmed several WoT books there before Brandon Sanderson took over. Winter's Heart, definitely, and probably the last half of Crossroads of Twilight?




5: A book that filled you with fluffy happiness

adorable



I had a lot of fun with Leah Konen's contemporary novel The Romantics. It's basically a YA romcom narrated by Love and it's super fluffy and very entertaining. It can be a bit twee but it's really entertaining for an afternoon.


6: A book that everyone told you to read for AGES and you finally did and it was AMAZING

perfectenschlag


Blackbringer and Silksinger by Laini Taylor. I mean I knew they were going to be good -- its Laini Taylor -- but I was nervous because fairies and MG. However, while these do skew younger they are still full of the same lush writing and fun characters.



7: A book you wouldn’t want your parents seeing you reading

jim hiding



Hmm.. welll, I dunno. I don't have much shame and I've been reading romance novels since I was.. 14? So besides like, the Joy of Sex, not much. They did tease me when I was reading Sex with the King over Thanksgiving last year but ehhh ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

 
8: A book with two characters that SO should not have ended up together

what is that

Spoilers for Sarah J. Maas's Empire of Storms: I know it's not like they declared they're even officially together or anything but DORIAN AND MANON. SO MUCH UNSHIP. THIS SHIP SINKS. IT DOES NOT SAIL. <-- End. I am never ever going to be okay with that one. WHAT IS THAT. SHE IS IN LOVE WITH ASTERIN. ALSO SHE EATS PEOPLE. Okay, now I really  am done.


9: A book that’s really popular and you’re just like, “uh?”

why are you the way that you are


Anything published by/with Cassie Clare? How? Why? People, stop. I do not get why she is STILL SO popular and always on the NYT list. I couldn't even make it through two books in her FIRST Shadowwhatever series before I was bored to the point of sleeping.


10: A book that you love but hesitantly flail over because so many people don’t like it

i don't care


Most recently: Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge. I feel like the lone anti-black sheep because I loved it and most of my friends DNF'd or 1-2 starred it. This is the most I have ever liked the story of Romeo and Juliet -- they were teens who knew each other for days before dying IT'S NOT A REAL ROMANCE -- so maybe it's the inclusion of the zombies? Maybe it's the stone-cold badass that is the Juliet, full of life and passion and agency? Or maybe it's Romeo and Paris acting like CSI investigators with a psychic mind link? Maybe it's Hodge's unique and creative worldbuilding? Or maybe it's all the gay headcanons this book seems to beg for. I dunno. I just really, really dug this.


11: A book that had you unexpectedly rolling on the floor with giggles

laughing

 
Oooh, definitely have to say The Hating Game again or Becky Albertalli's The Upside of Unrequited. Both made me lol in more than one occasion. Lucy is so awkward and funny in THG and Upside has so many genuinely hilarious moments <3

12: A book that, as you kept reading, kept getting more and more confusing

i understand nothing


MARCUS SEDGWICK WHHYYY. So yeah. Ghosts of Heaven was not made for my brain. What even is happening there? See also: House of Leaves, Cloud Atlas. I tried but.. yeah... no. Infinite Jest was another example of this. Too much happening, too much.



13: A book that you DNFed because what even was happening

hated it

 
Ahahah see above answer(s). I'M SORRY DANI I TRIED TO READ IT TWICE BUT IT WAS NOT MEANT TO BE.
14: A book that had a jaw dropping plot point

mind blown



Pretty much any Kate Morton book published? Even when you go in knowing that she always always has a twist in store for her books: YOU ARE NOT PREPARED when it shows up. Especially: The Secret Keeper and The Distant Hours and The House at Riverton.



15: A book that had you dancing for joy when you finished the last page

joy

 
 The Silver Tide by Jen Williams. Williams built such a fun fantasy series with her three Copper Cat books -- it was diverse and inclusive and creative -- and she ended it perfectly. There were a lot of shippy feels generated by this book <333

16: A book that could have been really good if it wasn’t trying so hard

creative

  
The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. I really liked the first book and flat-out loved the second....so I was really saddened by how all-over-the-place book three was when I read it last month. There was too much going on in too short of span of time. It fell flat and wasn't a very successful conclusion.


17: A book that you couldn’t read because of historical inaccuracies/general stupidity

idiot

 
Uugh I shouldn't have but I did finish this one book that years later I can still remember how inaccurate and anachronistic is was (Anne Boleyn "taking tea" 120 years before it was in England!). The book was At the Mercy of the Queen by Anne Clinard Barnhill and it was not good. (Here is the review, if you are curious.)

18: A book that had you crying and you really couldn’t say if it was from happiness or sadness because it was just THAT amazing

pam crying


This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills had me happy-crying and sad-crying and crying-crying all at the same time. That book had all my emotions ALL twisted up and it rained on my face for a while that day, ok?




19: A book that holds your OTP to end all OTPs

jim and pam


 TAYLOR AND JONAH 4 EVA (aka Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta)
and
RHAEGAR AND LYANNA 5 EVA (aka A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin)



20: A book that was about everyday life and was so completely beautiful

my heart

While not completely "every day" type of contemporary (revenge society exacting VENGEANCE!), I'm definitely going to go with Elliot Wake's Bad Boy for this.




Book Tour Review: The Semper Sonnet by Seth Margolis

Saturday, December 3, 2016
Title: The Semper Sonnets
Author: Seth Margolis
Genre: historical fiction, thriller
Series: N/A
Pages: 374
Published: April 2016
Source: Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours for review
Rating: 4/5

A long-lost manuscript, written for Elizabeth I, holds the key to unlocking the past—and to eliminating the future.

Lee Nicholson is ready to take the academic world by storm, having discovered a sonnet she believes was written by William Shakespeare. When she reads the poem on the air, the words put her life in peril and trigger a violent chase, with stakes that reach far beyond the cloistered walls of academia.

Buried in the language of the sonnet, in its allusions and wordplay, are secrets that have been hidden since Elizabethan times, secrets known only to the queen and her trusted doctor, but guessed at by men who seek the crown and others who seek the world. If the riddles are solved, it could explode what the world knows of the great Elizabeth I. And it could release a pandemic more deadly than the world has ever imagined.

Lee’s quest for the answers buried in the sonnet keeps her one step ahead of an international hunt—from the police who want her for murder, to a group of men who will stop at nothing to end her quest, to a madman who pursues the answers for destructive reasons of his own.

As this intelligent thriller moves back and forth between Tudor England and the present day, Lee begins to piece together the meaning behind Shakespeare’s words, carrying the story to its gasp-out-loud conclusion.


Dual timeline novels are always a creative, tricky, and fun approach, and Seth Margolis applies that creativity to Tudor mysteries and secrets and a modern race to uncover them. The two stories tie together rather neatly; The Semper Sonnet is a clever book and Margolis is an author that layers his narratives with plenty of hints, clues, and aha! moments. Lee's story is more action-packed than her Elizabeth physician counterpart Rufus Hatton, but each narrative is interesting and the book is entertaining.

This is an easy rec to make for fans of Dan Brown's famous Robert Langdon series, but Seth Margolis has a better grasp on the techniques of writing and his book is stronger for it. The Semper Sonnet is a thoroughly blended mix of the historical fiction and thriller staples, but there's little infodumping and the book takes pains to show more than it tells. Spanning international borderlines and several centuries, the truth behind Edward Filer is one that propels both Lee and the plot; in doing so, the author puts his own spin on one of the most popular historical conspiracy theories.

Tangling Shakespeare's legacy and a long-untold secret of his times, the plot of The Semper Sonnet is a detailed and involved affair. Developing its many angles takes up the lion's share of the narrative attention so Lee is a moderately well-defined main character, but not, I think, a particularly memorable one. She has personality, agency, and an arc but characterization is not the main strength of this novel. The Semper Sonnet made for an evenly-plotted and well-paced read; its plot was clever and creative take on a well-known historical "what if?"





04_the-semper-sonnet_blog-tour-banner_final


Blog Tour Schedule

Thursday, December 1
Review at Jessica and Gracie’s Tree

Friday, December 2
Spotlight at The Never-Ending Book

Saturday, December 3
Review at Ageless Pages Reviews

Monday, December 5
Review at A Bookaholic Swede

Tuesday, December 6
Review at Jorie Loves a Story
Spotlight at The Lit Bitch

Wednesday, December 7
Review at Kinx’s Book Nook
Spotlight at What Is That Book About

Thursday, December 8
Interview at Author Dianne Ascroft’s Blog
Spotlight at Susan Heim on Writing

Friday, December 9
Review at Trisha Jenn Reads

Monday, December 12
Review at 100 Pages a Day
Review at Queen of All She Reads

Wednesday, December 14
Review at JulzReads

Thursday, December 15
Guest Post at JulzReads

Friday, December 16
Spotlight at Books, Dreams, Life

Monday, December 19
Review at Beth’s Book Nook Blog

Wednesday, December 21
Spotlight at A Literary Vacation

Tuesday, December 27
Review at History From a Woman’s Perspective

Wednesday, December 28
Review at CelticLady’s Reviews

Thursday, December 29
Review at Svetlana’s Reads and Views

Friday, December 30
Review at Broken Teepee

Fall Bookish Bingo Wrap-Up

Friday, December 2, 2016
Click to go visit Bekka who is awesome and wonderful and smart for putting this thing together while seventeen million months pregnant.
Usually this is where I lament how quickly the year is going, but seriously you guys, fuck fall 2016. Bring on winter, even if it brings six feet of snow to Ohio, because I am so ready for this hell year to be over.

As always, Jess is a Bingo rockstar with five bingos and 20/24 squares filled in:

Backlist: The Thirteenth House by Sharon Shinn 
Suspense: Yesternight by Cat Winters
Standalone: Long May She Reign by Rhiannon Thomas
Retelling: Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter
Killers: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas
Weapon on Cover: A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet
Animal on the Cover: The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis
Fall Release: Afterward by Jennifer Mathieu
FriendshipMetaltown by Kristen Simmons
Illustrated: Un Lun Dun by China Mieville
Multi POV: Replica by Lauren Oliver 
Green Cover: This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills 
Black CoverNemesis by Anna Banks
Creepy Cover: Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova 
Rec'd to You: The Hating Game by Sally Thorme
Dragons: Kingdom of Ashes by Rhiannon Thomas 
Purple Cover: Inglorious Royal Marriages by 
College: The Midnight Queen by Sylvia Izzo Hunter Leslie Carroll
RevengeThe Midnight Star by Marie Lu 
Short Story: Iron to Iron by Ryan Graudin (Wolf by Wolf #1.5)

MEANWHILE

Remember all those times I cleared the Bingo board? Let's all ruminate on those and not scroll down, eh?

Standalone: Uprooted by Naomi Novik (9/6)
Killers: Macbeth by William Shakespeare (9/9)
Graphic Novel: Lumberjanes Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson (9/10)
Backlist: The Lost Duke of Wyndham by Julia Quinn (9/11)
Multi POV: The Bands of Mourning by Brandon Sanderson (9/11)
Horror/Paranormal: As I Descended by Robin Talley (9/12)
Short Story: The Year of the Crocodile by Courtney Milan (9/12)
Suspense: Last Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehig (9/18)
Rec'd to Me: Tribute by Nora Roberts (9/29)
Fall ReleaseLabyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova (10/12)
Purple CoverA Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare (10/13)
Revenge: Lucifer, Book One by Mike Carey (10/16)
Black CoverDarkfever by Karen Marie Moning (10/26)
Creepy Cover: The Umbrella Academy, Vol. 1: The Apocalypse Suite by Gerard Way (10/31)
Friendship: Princeless, Vol. 4: Be Yourself by Jeremy Whitley (11/7)
Green Cover: Captivated by Nora Roberts (11/20)
College: Smut by Karina Hale (11/23)
Weapon on Cover: The Falconer by Elizabeth May (11/29)

I want an extra point for being Zoro.

So winter's card, eh? Focusing on moving forward and all that! Who's participating and who's keeping me accountable to actually read off my board? 


TBR Planning: December 2016

Thursday, December 1, 2016
It's almost 2017 but I've already dived into 2017 ARCs because I am a monster with no self-control. If you've been reading this blog for longer than a day, you are not surprised by this at all.


The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden



A young woman’s family is threatened by forces both real and fantastical in this debut novel inspired by Russian fairy tales.

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, Pytor hides the gift away and Vasya grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay.




Bad Boy by Elliot Wake -- dark story about a trans MC who works with a secret vigilante group, Black Iris. I've only read the first Black Iris book, but this sound dark and necessary. Eliot Wake explores masculinity and culture in an unflinching, honest way

Spindle by E.K. Johnston -- the second book in series after Johnston took on retelling the 10001 Nights with A Thousand Nights last year. I am not sure how much more life this particular story can extend to, but I am interested to see.

The Semper Sonnets by Seth Margolis --poems, mysteries from the past, and Queen Elizabeth I. I am 100% here for all of that.

The Book Jumper by Mechthild Glaser



Amy Lennox doesn't know quite what to expect when she and her mother pick up and leave Germany for Scotland, heading to her mother's childhood home of Lennox House on the island of Stormsay.

Amy's grandmother, Lady Mairead, insists that Amy must read while she resides at Lennox House—but not in the usual way. It turns out that Amy is a book jumper, able to leap into a story and interact with the world inside. As thrilling as Amy's new power is, it also brings danger—someone is stealing from the books she visits, and that person may be after her life. Teaming up with fellow book jumper Will, Amy vows to get to the bottom of the thefts—at whatever the cost.


That cover is perfect and the synopsis makes me hopeful. Pleasebegoodpleasebegoodpleasebegooood.

Jessie's November Recap

Wednesday, November 30, 2016
So it's almost December; somehow that seems way too soon and way too long in coming. 2016 is ending, and I think we can all say we are more than ready to say goodbye to the shitshow that was November 2016. I had my birthday on the 3rd... but things steadily went to hell soon after.

So we're gonna wrap up November, and head into December with clear eyes and determination. I'm ready for a new month (and soon, a new year) but I am by no means done fighting ... basically everything that happened in November 2016.



Books Read: 29

Notable Favorites:
Blackbringer by Laini Taylor (Dreamdark #1)
Silksinger by Laini Taylor (Dreamdark #2)
The Shadow Hour by Melissa Grey (The Girl at Midnight #2)
Resonance by Erica O'Rouke (Dissonance #2)
Bad Boy by Elliot Wake

Reviews Posted: 
Two Minute Review: Of Fire and Stars by Aurey Coulthurst
Backlist Review: Because You'll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas
Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill
The Iron Ghost by Jen Williams (The Copper Cat #2)
Series Review: Noctis Magicae by Sylvia Izzo Hunter (#1-#3)
Two Minute Review: The Romantics by Leah Konen
The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen (Tearling #3)
The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco (The Bone Witch #1)
Series Review: The Dagger and the Coin by Daniel Abraham (#1-#5)
The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May (The Falconer #2)
Two Minute DNF Reviews

Fun Stuff:
Top Ten Villains Take Two
My 5-Year Plan
Top Ten Recent TBR Additions


Book Tags:
Dani & Jessie's Coffee Book Tag
Dani & Jessie's Inside Out Book Tag
Top Ten Things We Are Grateful for in 2016


Bookstagram of the Month:



 CUSTOM OTP POPS FROM DANI I AM OVERCOME

Aaaand that's a wrap for me!




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Copyright © 2015 Ageless Pages Reviews. All Rights Reserved.

Amelia Theme by The Lovely Design CO and These Paper Hearts.