Book Tour Review: Loving Eleanor by Susan Wittig Albert

Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Title: Loving Eleanor
Author: Susan Wittig Albert
Genre: historical fiction
Series: N/A
Pages: 306
Source: Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours for review
Rating:  3.5/5


When AP political reporter Lorena Hickok—Hick—is assigned to cover Eleanor Roosevelt in the 1932 campaign, the two women become deeply involved. Their relationship begins with mutual romantic passion, matures through stormy periods of enforced separation and competing interests, and warms into an enduring, encompassing friendship documented by 3300 letters.

Set during the chaotic years of the Great Depression, the New Deal, and the Second World War, Loving Eleanor reveals Eleanor Roosevelt as a complex, contradictory, and entirely human woman who is pulled in many directions by her obligations to her husband and family and her role as the nation's First Lady. Hick is revealed as an accomplished journalist, who, at the pinnacle of her career, gives it all up for the woman she loves. Then, as Eleanor is transformed into Eleanor Everywhere, First Lady of the World, Hick must create her own independent, productive life. Loving Eleanor is a profoundly moving novel that illuminates a relationship we are seldom privileged to see, celebrating the depth and durability of women's love.
 

I don't know that I've never been the type of person to have a personal hero, but the closest I've ever come to that kind of relationship is how much I admire  Eleanor Roosevelt as a person. No matter your opinion on her politics or her marriage and husband, she was an impressive, smart, classy woman. She lived a very public life as the nation's First Lady, but she also lead a secret private life; one that encompassed forbidden loves  -- which is partly retold here in Loving Eleanor through the years-long and defining relationship she had with AP reporter Lorena 'Hick' Hickok. Her relationship with Eleanor waxed and waned, but Hick remains a dynamic person and one with an interesting history worth exploring.

This book is tangentially about Eleanor, but it is clearly and deservedly Hick's story more than it is about anything else. It can't be denied that Eleanor wielded a large influence on the direction of Hick's life during and after their affair, but Hick was a woman all her own before and after she knew Eleanor personally. Hick had an unusual life even before her life intersected with the First Lady; she was a woman reporter who loved against cultural mores and felt no need to apologize for who and what she was. Having never before read about her life, I thought the author did a wonderful job projecting a layered and complex version of a real-life person from a pivotal time in American history. 

The story of Lorena and Eleanor is a bittersweet one by its (and the book's) end, as anyone familiar with history knows going into the novel. The ever-evolving relationship between the two strong-willed women goes through many iterations but is always pivotal for both the novel and for the main character. The fun in reading Loving Eleanor is seeing just how this author envisions history and fills in the gaps with her own invention and characterization. How she captured the Eleanor known to the public and then the woman only known to her best friend and closest confidante. There were large events playing against the background of Hick's story, but Susan Wittig Albert keeps the feel of the story small and personal and the focus on Hick; it's easy to feel like these characters are the real versions that lived so recently.







Blog Tour Schedule

Tuesday, April 26
Review at Bibliotica

Wednesday, April 27
Review at Broken Teepee

Thursday, April 28
Spotlight at The Lit Bitch

Friday, April 29
Spotlight at Passages to the Past

Monday, May 2
Review at A Chick Who Reads

Tuesday, May 3
Spotlight at I Heart Reading

Wednesday, May 4
Review at A Holland Reads

Thursday, May 5
Interview at A Holland Reads

Friday, May 6
Review at The Book Binder’s Daughter
Spotlight at To Read, or Not to Read

Monday, May 9
Review at The Book Junkie Reads

Tuesday, May 10
Review at Back Porchervations

Thursday, May 12
Interview at Back Porchervations

Monday, May 16
Guest Post at Let Them Read Books

Tuesday, May 17
Spotlight at The True Book Addict

Wednesday, May 18
Review at Book Nerd

Friday, May 20
Guest Post at Creating Herstory

Monday, May 23
Review at Unabridged Chick
Interview at Layered Pages

Tuesday, May 24
Interview at Unabridged Chick

Wednesday, May 25
Review at Ageless Pages Reviews

Thursday, May 26
Spotlight at A Literary Vacation

Monday, May 30
Review at Jorie Loves a Story
Review at Just One More Chapter

Tuesday, May 31
Review at Luxury Reading
Review at Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus More
Interview at Jorie Loves a Story

Two Minute Review: One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Monday, May 23, 2016
Title: One True Loves
Author: Taylor Jenkins Reid
Genre: contemporary
Series: N/A
Pages: 352
Published: expected June 7 2016
Source: publishers via NetGalley
Rating: 4.75/5


From the author of Maybe in Another Life comes a breathtaking new love story about a woman unexpectedly forced to choose between the husband she has long thought dead and the fiancé who has finally brought her back to life.

In her twenties, Emma Blair marries her high school sweetheart, Jesse. They build a life for themselves, far away from the expectations of their parents and the people of their hometown in Massachusetts. They travel the world together, living life to the fullest and seizing every opportunity for adventure.

On their first wedding anniversary, Jesse is on a helicopter over the Pacific when it goes missing. Just like that, Jesse is gone forever.

Emma quits her job and moves home in an effort to put her life back together. Years later, now in her thirties, Emma runs into an old friend, Sam, and finds herself falling in love again. When Emma and Sam get engaged, it feels like Emma’s second chance at happiness.

That is, until Jesse is found. He’s alive, and he’s been trying all these years to come home to her. With a husband and a fiancĂ©, Emma has to now figure out who she is and what she wants, while trying to protect the ones she loves.

Who is her one true love? What does it mean to love truly?

Emma knows she has to listen to her heart. She’s just not sure what it’s saying.

Taylor Jenkins Reid is a creative author that writes about love and marriage and commitment in interesting and thoughtful ways. She continually finds new, finely-wrought methods to explore what it means to love someone else with each successive novel she writes. Her books are layered and nuanced quasi-love stories; her characters are complicated women who resonate with all kinds of readers and who come to life in myriad small ways throughout the books. It's easy to fall into the stories and lives Reid imagines because she does it so completely from inception to conclusion. One True Loves has TJR bringing all her talents to bear with a new premise about what it means to love truly, and it's just what I had expected from my newest favorite autor: funny and fun, moving and heartbreaking in equal parts.

I love the originality of TJR's entire bibliography but One True Loves has my favorite plot and premise of her so-far four published books. TJR has explored what it means to be married (After I Do), what it means to move on after love (Forever Interrupted) before, but here she attempts both of these familiar themes with the story of one new character and also throws in the question of what true love really means. It's a lot for one author and let alone one character to shoulder in just three hundred fifty pages, but Emma is such a well-rendered and vivid, realistic person that it all works. You understand how she can wrestle with this huge life event for as long as she does, how her business is not yet finished, and how she needs to be "free" to go forward. One True Loves tugs on the heart and it's meant to hurt. 






Review: Traitor Angels by Anne Blankman

Sunday, May 22, 2016
Title: Traitor Angels
Author: Anne Blankman
Genre: historical fiction
Series: N/A
Pages: 393
Published: May 3 2016
Source: publishers via edelweiss
Rating: 3.5/5

Six years have passed since England’s King Charles II returned from exile to reclaim the throne, ushering in a new era of stability for his subjects.

Except for Elizabeth Milton. The daughter of notorious poet John Milton, Elizabeth has never known her place in this shifting world—except by her father’s side. By day she helps transcribe his latest masterpiece, the epic poem Paradise Lost, and by night she learns languages and sword fighting. Although she does not dare object, she suspects that he’s training her for a mission whose purpose she cannot fathom.

Until one night the reason becomes clear: the king’s men arrive at her family’s country home to arrest her father. Determined to save him, Elizabeth follows his one cryptic clue and journeys to Oxford, accompanied by her father’s mysterious young houseguest, Antonio Vivani, a darkly handsome Italian scientist who surprises her at every turn. Funny, brilliant, and passionate, Antonio seems just as determined to protect her father as she is—but can she trust him with her heart?

When the two discover that Milton has planted an explosive secret in the half-finished Paradise Lost—a secret the king and his aristocratic supporters are desperate to conceal—Elizabeth is faced with a devastating choice: cling to the shelter of her old life or risk cracking the code, unleashing a secret that could save her father…and tear apart the very fabric of society.
  

On paper, this book is seemingly made for me - the setting and tone, the time, the plot itself. But in execution, I was more of a lukewarm fan than anything else by the end of its nearly 400-page length. I have loved (book one) and mehh'd (book two)  my way through the author's previous WWII-centric duology and found Traitor Angels to be more on the slow side like Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke rather quick-moving than Blankman's first and best novel, Prisoner of Night and Fog. I had high hopes going in and did like Traitor Angels quite a bit for its originality, but also found it a tad unpolished and slow-moving.

The pacing dragged my reading down, but the author kept my interest with a creative and new plot; one that is far-reaching and ambitious. The story of Traitor Angels is centered on main character Elizabeth, the daughter of the infamous John Milton, and she grows into a great, multifaceted young woman. I wasn't the hugest fan of her male compatriots on her journeys, but happily the author doesn't ignore plot for romance or worse, use an hastily-drawn love story to propel that plot. There's a good balance of mystery and historical fiction in Traitor Angels, and the author is smart to keep all the various pieces moving for hundreds of pages and the overall outcome unpredictable. 

I have to admit that my attention wandered sometimes during this read; I am a fast reader and it took me a few days to finish. I was interested in it, but it can take a long time for the plot to really engage on more than a superficial level. Elizabeth, though I cheered for her by the end, took time to emerge as a character with her own voice. I appreciate the plausibility of the plot that Blankman has created -- John Milton's Paradise Lost has never before been so interesting to me as a reader -- but 400 pages is a long time for a book that can be a bit overwrought and overdrawn. 




Danielle's BEA 2016 Recap and Haul

Wednesday, May 18, 2016
We're home, ducklings! And very sad about that, actually. While I didn't go into BEA treating it like a vacation, I definitely had a more vaca-like experience than my last medical billing conference. I attribute that 110% to my amazing roommates, Morgan and Ashley at Gone With The Words, Laura at Scribbles and Wanderlust (Best blog name? Best blog name.), Lindsey at Bring My Books, Gillian at Writer of Wrongs/The Art of Young Adult, Gaby at Bookish Broads, and of course my beloved Jessie from right here at Ageless Pages. Without them I definitely would not have had so much fun. I'd probably be dead. I definitely would not have my wallet. So, without further ado, lets discuss BEA!

My final haul, minus swag and bags.

Things I Learned at BookExpo America 2016:


1. Airports are the tenth circle of hell.

     I'll let the other girls fill you in on their truly terrible travel experiences, but even I, who's flight went perfectly fine, hated O'Hare. I came into terminal 2, while everyone else was in 3. (Or 4, depending on who was texting,) The signs for baggage claim were so confusing I ended up calling my girlfriend and having her navigate me via the internet. So great start on my adulting!

As I hit terminal 3, Morgan was just deplaning, so I went to find Jessie and meet Lindsey and Ashley for the first time so we could all ride to the hotel together. I'm very sorry to all the people trying to get their bags at 11 am, who got to experience me screaming Jess' full name and launching myself onto her. First impressions, I do them good. Then Morgan's bags got stuck/lost and we couldn't get a cab big enough for all of us and poor Laura, who drove, was waiting on us and it was super frustrating and basically suck it, O'Hare.

2. These are your people.

     I came to that realization many times over the weekend, but my first real, like "wow I love these girls" moment came when we went down to have drinks with Sharon Cameron. First, Sharon is beyond nice and was so lovely and kept trying to feed us but I wasn't familiar with her work at all, (SORRY SHARON!) so I was kind of out of my depth and I could feel an anxiety attack starting, so I tapped Gillian and told her I was going back to the room and then I was anxious like, "all my roommates are going to hate me and think I'm a flake" so I DM'd them because I can do internet and they all got it and that's when I realized that the Boozy Lady Knights are my friends for realsies.


3. Lines are more suggestions and everything is anarchy.

    So day one of BEA we all got up and showered and we're bright eyed and bushy tailed and Gilly got to be on a panel and we're all proud of her and we show up to get our badges and...



Well damn. First, we're told to join the end of the line and "snake". Then the snaking is taking too much space, so we all need to stand and compress together. But now we're just in a mob and the woman going around trying to keep us in order just tells the six of us to "merge in", like that won't start a riot, and the line finally opens and there's no line anymore, just a stampede to the Scholastic booth for their first drops. (I got Sharon Cameron's The Forgetting ASAP because she was seriously, so. nice.)

This isn't even including the Macmillain stampede on day 2 or the 3.5 hour wait for Gemina.

A video posted by Jay Kristoff (@jay_kristoff) on

4. They call it a haul, because you are hauling those things around.

     Even on days when I was like, I'm only going to get two books, I always ended up with at least four in a bag. You're constantly discovering books you didn't know about and, and this was a new one to me, less hyped books are sometimes brought to you. Waiting in line for a hot new MG? Someone's assistant will just take a big old stack of 700 page non-fictions and start passing them out. (And then you and Gillian get to geek out over the 200 page bibliography, like whoa.)

    a) Now my whole body hurts and I'm possibly dead.

          I know I'm not a physically fit person. I work a desk job 60 hours a week. But I felt I had a decent handle on "go here, stand, go there, stand again." LOL, I do not. Especially on day one, even though it's only a half day, I was carrying twelve books between two bags on each shoulder and sprinting between drop lines.


Thank god for pubs and their tote bags. I was not prepared.

5. It's not all books. 

     Publishers and publisher-adjacent companies are coming up with super interesting swag. Litographs is doing their Alice Chain, where everyone gets temporary tattoos of lines from the book and they publish them online:


Wiley had a photobooth that lets you turn your pictures into gifs, (with subtle branding of course.)


Disney gave out phone chargers (that definitely do not project Eoin Colfer dressed as Iron Man) and Tony Stark-tails, while Out of Print had a basket full of Fahrenheit 451 match boxes.



The comics row was impressive. Image gave out all their number ones, which is a great deal as Saga and Rat Queens are basically amazing. Next door, Lion Forge had Robin Christensen Roussimoff signing posters of her dad.


It's cliche, but there really is something for everyone. (Except adult historical fic? Our search for that did not yield any results.)

6. There's a lot of down time.

     I don't just mean standing in line, although you're going to do that. The con is over at five. You have so much free time to be with your friends, it's kind of insane. We saw two movies, did a museum, had a massive drunken CaH game, watched two Disney movies, one Don Bluth movie, three episodes of Friends, and I finished a romance novel.

Seven clowns in a car. Not available: Gilly in Meg's lap
Hello, we're from the internet.


7. But there's also not enough time?

     With approximately six hundred people yelling, "hey we should hang out later!", it's impossible to get enough one on one time with everyone. I was so looking forward to seeing BekkaMeg, and Angie and I feel like I didn't get a quarter of the time I wanted to talk to them. I was really looking forward to meeting Steph, and I only got to see her for about five minutes at a party! My SandersonArmy girls caught up for one pic, but then it was off to the four winds for us all. I need BEA to be like a city we can all just move to.

Quick, take a selfie to prove we were in the same place!
8. If you have the opportunity, go to the parties. 

     I was fortunate enough to get an invite to the Macmillan Childrens/Fierce Reads party and it was a highlight of the trip. Coming home to a lot of drama and discussion about how bloggers fit into the publishing industry would have been a lot harder if I hadn't had Mac telling me that I'm the fucking shit. They made us these amazing goody bags, complete with a note from Brittany in New York since she couldn't be with us and it was just such a fun atmosphere to talk to Leigh Bardugo about why she should never come to Toledo. (Just don't.) Caleb Roehig, Heather, and I all got to bond over the midwest and how none of you know what our food is. (I'm serious about the buckeyes Caleb, hit me up.) When I went back to the table Jessie and Bekka were at, there was a brunette in a cute dress in my vacant seat. Long story short, Marissa Meyer.


Caleb meets PocketJamie
This would be Marissa's view.
Party it up friends, it really is the best.

9. Authors - They're Just Like Us (and also, they're standing right there?)


     At one point on day two, I got separated from everyone. As I'm walking through the convention center, there's Laini Taylor, who I ADORE. Wearing squirrel ears. Just there, being Laini Taylor. Then I walked past Eric Smith. I make it to my queue and who's behind me but Caleb Roehig again? Want to see Ransom Riggs and his shiny silver shoes? To the left. Jay Kristoff in all his imposing seven foot glory? Back there, geeking out with Amie Kaufman.

     a) But they're also people, so maybe let Jay walk and stop hitting on him and Ransom?

          

10. It's going to blow your mind.


Ok loves, that's about it for me. If you want to see the full list of the books I got, check my BEA16 tag on GR, and stay tuned to Ageless Pages for so many reviews! Jess should have her own haul up this week as well. (Spoiler, she reads three times as fast as me, so she had to SHIP HER HAUL HOME.) And for everyone who made this one of the best weeks ever, another heartfelt thank you.


See you in 2018.

TTT: Top Ten Books I Picked Up on a Whim

Tuesday, May 17, 2016
I read a lot of books. I know, I know. The vast majority of my reads are either from authors I trust or rec'd by people I trust. It keeps my star ratings higher than average, but sometimes I worry it's keeping me from discovering new authors! So I do try to make use of my library system, Kindle cheapies, and used book stores to give books like these a fair shake:



1. The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Homberg

I liked the cover.

I ended up requesting this from the publisher when the second book released because I love origami and paper and the magic system seemed interesting and it reminded me of Patricia Wrede and Tamora Pierce's 90s writing, but I only gave it a second glance because the cover was pretty.



2. The Fairy Godmother by Mercedes Lackey

I had money left on a gift card.

Beauty and the Werewolf had just come out and kept showing up in my "recommended for you" list on Amazon. I had $5 and change left on a gift card from my mother in law, The Fairy Godmother was on sale, and fairy tale retellings are always my jam.



3. The Luxe by Anna Godbersen

I want her dress.

I was making weekly library runs every Thursday, which meant I had pretty well cleaned out the Tudor and Victorian historical fiction sections. The Luxe came up in the search results for historical and I fell head over heels for the cover.




4. Clownfellas by Carlton Mellick III

I wanted it to be bad.

I needed an "out of my comfort zone" book for a reading challenge on the same day Clownfellas popped up on Netgalley. It seemed serendipitous and like a good, snarky review. Shame it's kind of...good?



5. Mrs. Tom Thumb by Melanie Benjamin

The publisher claims I won a contest I didn't enter.

This book remains a mystery to me, because I did not request it. Unlike other unsolicited ARCs I've gotten, this was a finished copy and claimed I'd won a contest. Still, PT Barnum's always had a certain mystique, so I saw no reason to send it back.



6. Unlocked by Courtney Milan

It was free.

2012 was the year I really discovered the romance genre. It was also the year I discovered the romance genre gets damn expensive when you read 3 a week. Unlocked was the number one free Kindle romance. While I didn't love the story itself, something in it spoke to me enough to buy Unveiled and start my Milan obsession.




7. Shadows on the Moon by Zoe Marriott

I thought it was a different book.

When I borrowed Shadows on the Moon from the library, I thought I was picking up Ash by Malinda Lo. Turns out that both are Cinderella retellings with LGBT diversity, though they really couldn't be more different in execution.



8. The Maid by Kimberly Cutter

I...have no idea.

This was again borrowed from the library during my historical fiction binge, but nothing about the book speaks to me in the usual way. The cover is relatively generic, it wasn't a new release, I detest overt Christianity in books. I'm not sorry I read it, but I absolutely don't remember why I did.



9. How To Date a Henchman by Mari Fee

The title made me laugh.

This one actually is that simple. I thought the title was delightful and I really like stories about the people around superheroes. Actually, I just got and read Heroine Complex for the same reason...



10. Of Noble Birth by Brenda Novak

It was free...again.

and

I didn't know the author was one of the most famous and prolific in the genre.

and

I thought it was new.

and

It was a boxset with Honor Bound, which I still haven't read after owning for four years.



So there we go, ten books I basically picked at random that turned out to be rather quite good! How do you select your next read? And stay tuned for BEA2016 round ups coming all this week!


Review: All The Feels by Danika Stone

Monday, May 16, 2016
Title: All the Feels
Author: Danika Stone
Genre: Contemporary
Series: n/a
Pages: 336
Published: Expected June 7th, 2016
Source: Galley via Publisher
Rating: 1.5 out of 5

College freshman Liv is more than just a fangirl: The Starveil movies are her life… So, when her favorite character, Captain Matt Spartan, is killed off at the end of the last movie, Liv Just. Can’t. Deal.

Tired of sitting in her room sobbing, Liv decides to launch an online campaign to bring her beloved hero back to life. With the help of her best friend, Xander, actor and steampunk cosplayer extraordinaire, she creates #SpartanSurvived, a campaign to ignite the fandom. But as her online life succeeds beyond her wildest dreams, Liv is forced to balance that with the pressures of school, her mother’s disapproval, and her (mostly nonexistent and entirely traumatic) romantic life. A trip to DragonCon with Xander might be exactly what she needs to figure out what she really wants.

My dad's a huge sci-fi fantasy fan and a lot of my childhood memories are intrinsically linked with Wars, Trek, and Galactica. I remember the 20th Anniversary Special Edition and my dad and Uncle Ed screaming that Han Shot FIRST. I was nine. But my first fandom was The Wheel of Time, when my dad stuffed the first half of The Eye of the World into my hand on a car ride and told me read it. And then he told me to persevere (three times) when the first 50 pages turned out to be the dullest in literary history. This was in the early Thousands, before Tumblr or blogs. Instead we had bulletin boards and chat rooms. My nick was golden_lily, (the personal sigil for Elayne Trakand,) and I was obsessed. If my dad had died at the height of my fandom? I don't know what I would have done, but I doubt it would be pretty.

Liv lives for fandom, particularly Starveil. When the fourth movie kills off the main character, she can't cope. After weeks of depression, she convinces her best friend Xander to make a few fan videos with her showing that #SpartanSurvived. The fandom runs with it and soon she'd be the toast of the community - if she wasn't anon.

My biggest problem with All The Feels is its lack of commitment. Liv's father was a massive fan of the cult series turned phenomena and it's obvious in the two paragraphs about him, that her reluctance to let Spartan go is directly tied to her unresolved grief over his death. Her mom talks about a time fandom almost destroyed Liv's life in high school, but the book doesn’t actually go there. I don't know if we're supposed to think her mother's concern is rational or not. I do know that Liv would benefit from some real therapy, not a job on a movie set.

Characters are flimsy and supremely underdeveloped. Xander's involved with the Steampunk community, but he dresses as a Regency rake at all times. Why? We know he met Liv at college and he wants to be an actor, but not what he's studying or his hobbies. His bisexuality is dropped casually into a conversation, which I did like, but we know nothing about his home or family or interests outside of fandom. Liv's lack of motivation or interests is part of her - can I say arc when there's no actual growth? - but the rest of the cast shouldn't be able to be described in single words.

Arden - X's girlfriend, preppy and annoying
Joe - Loud, bossy, fat
Step-Dad - Asshole
Brian - Asshole
Actor dude - Asshole
Hank - Hot and sweet, until asshole

This is not good! If the only way you can make your main character and her love interest seem nice is by making everyone around them not, you need to revise.

The book is a cliche mess full of girl hate, abuse, and easy to guess plot lines, but the one thing it does right is the fandom voice. The tweets/chat/IMs are authentic and capture the feeling of squealing with friends who love the same things as you. When Liv talks to Joe and Brian online, you absolutely understand they’re “real” friends, even if they haven’t met IRL. Of course, once Liv goes to the con and meets everyone in person, that’s no longer true.

I don’t understand the audience for this book. It reads far too juvenile for the characters ages or the proposed market. There’s no growth; there’s barely a plot. It makes men, women, and fandom look bad. It’s not funny or even particularly romantic, something I need from an imprint called SwoonReads. The main character learns that Hollywood is a corrupt place, but ends up happily working for it with her love interest. It’s bizarre. In all, I’d rather read the novelization of the Star Wars Holiday Special.


But First, A Non-BEA Book Haul

Sunday, May 15, 2016
While I was away at BEA, I was lucky enough to get some pretty awesome book mail. While I wait for my BEA books to finish showing up, I figured this would do for a newish haul.

From the lovely people of Tor Teen:


Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

This book is gorgeous. The chapter headings are different, unique, and just the right amount of macabre.


I cannot wait to read Vassa and see this Kingdom of Brooklyn!



From the kind folks at Bloomsbury:

 

The Peculiar Night of the Blue Heart by Lauren DeStefano

I haven't read a lot of MG this year, but I am pretty curious how DeStefano will continue from A Curious Tale of the In-Between

From TLC Book Tours:


Girls on Fire by Robin Wasserman

I really loved the Book of Blood and Shadow a few years ago. This premise sounded interesting and like it might be just as creepy-fun.


aaand a lovely pile from MacMillan:



Nemesis by Anna Banks - a new fantasy from the author of a mermaid series.

Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall - bisexual male protagonist so I had to try tho my history with this author is checkered.

Blood Red Snow White by Marcus Sedgwick - another author I've both loved and DNF'd, but this premise lured me in for another g0.

Jess, Chunk, and the Road Trip to Infinity by Kristin Elizabeth Clark - love the title, love the synopsis, hope it's the exception to the YA contemporary roadtrip rule.

This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills - this sounds like a feelsy contemporary and I am always on the lookout for one of those.

Afterward by Jennifer Mathieu - I loved Devoted, and thought The Truth About Alice was a thought-provoking, if imperfect debut. I'm curious to see how she will handle this subject matter/plot.

Aaaand from a giftcard because of course I bought this:


The Summer Dragon by Todd Lockwood - fantasy. dragons. cool cover. Is anyone surprised?


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Copyright © 2015 Ageless Pages Reviews. All Rights Reserved.

Amelia Theme by The Lovely Design CO and These Paper Hearts.