Waiting on Wednesday: Foolish Hearts

Wednesday, June 21, 2017



Emma Mills' newest novel sounds just as good as her last.







A contemporary novel about a girl whose high school production of A Midsummer Night's Dream leads her to new friends—and maybe even new love.

The day of the last party of the summer, Claudia overhears a conversation she wasn't supposed to. Now on the wrong side of one of the meanest girls in school, Claudia doesn't know what to expect when the two are paired up to write a paper—let alone when they're both forced to try out for the school production of A Midsummer Night's Dream.

But mandatory participation has its upsides—namely, an unexpected friendship, a boy band obsession, and a guy with the best dimpled smile Claudia's ever seen. As Claudia's world starts to expand, she finds that maybe there are some things worth sticking her neck out for.





Expected Publication: December 26 2017
Publisher: Henry Holt & Co. BYR










Top Ten Series to Start

Tuesday, June 20, 2017





I love a good series but I am always weird about starting them. I hate waiting for a sequel and yet my favorite series has famously made me wait spans of 5 or 6 years. So I've learned to wait.... and then buy the series first novel and sequel. This doesn't always work out -- first book can be boring or a DNF or a premise is so good I can't resist buying it as soon as it publishes.

Either way, I've built up quite a stack of unread books.





A lot of them are in series, just waiting for me to start the first.



1. Sandra Gulland's Becoming Josephine series
Books: The Many Lies and Secret Sorrows of Josephine B., Tales of Passion, Tales of Woe, and The Last Great Dance on Earth




In this first of three books inspired by the life of Josephine Bonaparte, Sandra Gulland has created a novel of immense and magical proportions. 

We meet Josephine in the exotic and lush Martinico, where an old island woman predicts that one day she will be queen. The journey from the remote village of her birth to the height of European elegance is long, but Josephine's fortune proves to be true.

 By way of fictionalized diary entries, we traverse her early years as she marries her one true love, bears his children, and is left betrayed, widowed, and penniless. It is Josephine's extraordinary charm, cunning, and will to survive that catapults her to the heart of society, where she meets Napoleon, whose destiny will prove to be irrevocably intertwined with hers.




2. Elizabeth's Eternal Sky series
Books: Range of Ghosts, Shattered Pillars, and Steles of the Sky

 
Temur, grandson of the Great Khan, is walking away from a battlefield where he was left for dead. All around lie the fallen armies of his cousin and his brother, who made war to rule the Khaganate. Temur is now the legitimate heir by blood to his grandfather's throne, but he is not the strongest. Going into exile is the only way to survive his ruthless cousin.

Once-Princess Samarkar is climbing the thousand steps of the Citadel of the Wizards of Tsarepheth. She was heir to the Rasan Empire until her father got a son on a new wife. Then she was sent to be the wife of a Prince in Song, but that marriage ended in battle and blood. Now she has renounced her worldly power to seek the magical power of the wizards.

These two will come together to stand against the hidden cult that has so carefully brought all the empires of the Celadon Highway to strife and civil war through guile and deceit and sorcerous power.


3. A.M. Dellamonica's Hidden Sea Tales
Books: Child of a Hidden Sea, A Daughter of No Nation, and The Nature of a Pirate

One minute, twenty-four-year-old Sophie Hansa is in a San Francisco alley trying to save the life of the aunt she has never known. The next, she finds herself flung into the warm and salty waters of an unfamiliar world. Glowing moths fall to the waves around her, and the sleek bodies of unseen fish glide against her submerged ankles.

The world is Stormwrack, a series of island nations with a variety of cultures and economies—and a language different from any Sophie has heard.

Sophie doesn't know it yet, but she has just stepped into the middle of a political firestorm, and a conspiracy that could destroy a world she has just discovered… her world, where everyone seems to know who she is, and where she is forbidden to stay.

But Sophie is stubborn, and smart, and refuses to be cast adrift by people who don't know her and yet wish her gone. With the help of a sister she has never known, and a ship captain who would rather she had never arrived, she must navigate the shoals of the highly charged politics of Stormwrack, and win the right to decide for herself whether she stays in this wondrous world . . . or is doomed to exile.


4. Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor
Books: Akata Witch, Akata Warrior



Affectionately dubbed "the Nigerian Harry Potter," Akata Witchweaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world. 

Twelve-year-old Sunny lives in Nigeria, but she was born American. Her features are African, but she's albino. She's a terrific athlete, but can't go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing she is a "free agent" with latent magical power. Soon she's part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. 

But will it be enough to help them when they are asked to catch a career criminal who knows magic too?



5. Sharon Shinn's Elemental Blessings series
Books: Troubled Waters, Royal Airs, Jeweled Fire, and Unquiet Land.


The author of the Twelve Hours series welcomes readers to a new fantasy world, where the elements rule.

Zoe Ardelay receives astonishing and unwelcome news: she has been chosen to become the king's fifth wife. Forced to go to the royal city, she manages to slip away and hide on the shores of the mighty river.

It's there that Zoe realizes she is a coru prime ruled by the elemental sign of water. She must return to the palace, not as an unwilling bride for the king, but a woman with power in her own right. But as Zoe unlocks more of the mysteries of her blood—and the secrets of the royal family—she must decide how to use her great power to rise above the deceptions and intrigue of the royal court.





6. Guy Gavriel Kay's Sarantine Mosaic
Books: Sailing to Sarantium, Lord of Emperors


Crispin is a mosaicist, a layer of bright tiles. Still grieving for the family he lost to the plaque, he lives only for his arcane craft. But an imperial summons from Valerius the Trakesian to Sarantium, the most magnificent place in the world, is difficult to resist.

In a world half-wild and tangled with magic, a journey to Sarantium means a walk into destiny. Bearing with him a deadly secret and a Queen's seductive promise, guarded only by his own wits and a talisman from an alchemist's treasury, Crispin sets out for the fabled city. Along the way he will encounter a great beast from the mythic past, and in robbing the zubir of its prize he wins a woman's devotion and a man's loyalty--and loses a gift he didn't know he had until it was gone.

Once in this city ruled by intrigue and violence, he must find his own source of power. Struggling to deal with the dangers and seductive lures of the men and woman around him, Crispin does discover it, in a most unusual place--high on the scaffolding of the greatest artwork ever imagined....



7. Daniel Abraham's Long Price Quartet
Books: A Shadow in Summer, A Betrayal in Winter, An Autumn War, and The Price of Spring

The city-state of Saraykeht dominates the Summer Cities. Its wealth is beyond measure; its port is open to all the merchants of the world, and its ruler, the Khai Saraykeht, commands forces to rival the Gods. Commerce and trade fill the streets with a hundred languages, and the coffers of the wealthy with jewels and gold. Any desire, however exotic or base, can be satisfied in its soft quarter. Blissfully ignorant of the forces that fuel their prosperity, the people live and work secure in the knowledge that their city is a bastion of progress in a harsh world. It would be a tragedy if it fell.

Saraykeht is poised on the knife-edge of disaster.

At the heart of the city's influence are the poet-sorcerer Heshai and the captive spirit, Seedless, whom he controls. For all his power, Heshai is weak, haunted by memories of shame and humiliation. A man faced with constant reminders of his responsibilities and his failures, he is the linchpin and the most vulnerable point in Saraykeht's greatness.

Far to the west, the armies of Galt have conquered many lands. To take Saraykeht, they must first destroy the trade upon which its prosperity is based. Marchat Wilsin, head of Galt's trading house in the city, is planning a terrible crime against Heshai and Seedless. If he succeeds, Saraykeht will fall.

Amat, House Wilsin's business manager, is a woman who rose from the slums to wield the power that Marchat Wilsin would use to destroy her city. Through accidents of fate and circumstance Amat, her apprentice Liat, and two young men from the farthest reaches of their society stand alone against the dangers that threaten the city.



8. The Powder Mage series by Brian McClellan
Books: Promise of Blood, The Crimson Campaign, and The Autumn Republic

The Age of Kings is dead . . . and I have killed it.

It's a bloody business overthrowing a king...
Field Marshal Tamas' coup against his king sent corrupt aristocrats to the guillotine and brought bread to the starving. But it also provoked war with the Nine Nations, internal attacks by royalist fanatics, and the greedy to scramble for money and power by Tamas's supposed allies: the Church, workers unions, and mercenary forces.

Stretched to his limit, Tamas is relying heavily on his few remaining powder mages, including the embittered Taniel, a brilliant marksman who also happens to be his estranged son, and Adamat, a retired police inspector whose loyalty is being tested by blackmail.

But when gods are involved...
Now, as attacks batter them from within and without, the credulous are whispering about omens of death and destruction. Just old peasant legends about the gods waking to walk the earth. No modern educated man believes that sort of thing. But they should...

In a rich, distinctive world that mixes magic with technology, who could stand against mages that control gunpowder and bullets?



9. Lightless series by C.A. Higgins
Books: Lightless, Supernova, and Radiate

 Serving aboard the Ananke, an experimental military spacecraft launched by the ruthless organization that rules Earth and its solar system, computer scientist Althea has established an intense emotional bond—not with any of her crewmates, but with the ship’s electronic systems, which speak more deeply to her analytical mind than human feelings do. But when a pair of fugitive terrorists gain access to the Ananke, Althea must draw upon her heart and soul for the strength to defend her beloved ship.

While one of the saboteurs remains at large somewhere on board, his captured partner—the enigmatic Ivan—may prove to be more dangerous. The perversely fascinating criminal whose silver tongue is his most effective weapon has long evaded the authorities’ most relentless surveillance—and kept the truth about his methods and motives well hidden.

As the ship’s systems begin to malfunction and the claustrophobic atmosphere is increasingly poisoned by distrust and suspicion, it falls to Althea to penetrate the prisoner’s layers of intrigue and deception before all is lost. But when the true nature of Ivan’s mission is exposed, it will change Althea forever—if it doesn’t kill her first.



10. Wires and Nerve by Marissa Meyer
Books: Volume One, Volume Two


In her first graphic novel, #1 New York Times and USA Today bestseller Marissa Meyer follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure -- with a little help from Cinder and the Lunar team.

In her first graphic novel, bestselling author Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new, action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers' leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity. With appearances by Cinder and the rest of the Rampion crew, this is a must-have for fans of the bestselling series.



 Any of these on your TBR pile?







Book Blast: Traitor's Knot by Crystal Bazos

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Traitor's Knot by Crystal Bazos


England 1650: Civil War has given way to an uneasy peace in the year since Parliament executed King Charles I.

Royalist officer James Hart refuses to accept the tyranny of the new government, and to raise funds for the restoration of the king’s son, he takes to the road as a highwayman.

Elizabeth Seton has long been shunned for being a traitor’s daughter. In the midst of the new order, she risks her life by sheltering fugitives from Parliament in a garrison town. But her attempts to rebuild her life are threatened, first by her own sense of injustice, then by falling in love with the dashing Hart.

The lovers’ loyalty is tested through war, defeat and separation. James must fight his way back to the woman he loves, while Elizabeth will do anything to save him, even if it means sacrificing herself.

Traitor's Knot is a sweeping tale of love and conflicted loyalties set against the turmoil of the English Civil War. 






Publication Date: May 9, 2017 
Publisher: Endeavor Press
Pages: 394
Genre: Fiction/Historical




Buy Link

 Amazon 



About the Author:

Cryssa Bazos is a historical fiction writer and 17th Century enthusiast, with a particular interest in the English Civil War (ECW). She blogs about English history and storytelling at her blog, the 17th Century Enthusiast, and is an editor of the English Historical Fiction Authors blog site.

Cryssa’s debut novel, Traitor’s Knot, a romantic tale of adventure set during the English Civil War. Traitor’s Knot is the first in a series of adventures spanning from the ECW to the Restoration and is now available from Endeavour Press.

For more information visit Cryssa’s website. You can also connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.




Book Blast Schedule

Wednesday, May 31 Passages to the Past

Thursday, June 1 A Bookaholic Swede

Friday, June 2 The Writing Desk

Monday, June 5 Pursuing Stacie



Friday, June 9 I Heart Reading

Monday, June 12 What Is That Book About

Tuesday, June 13 Books, Dreams, Life

Wednesday, June 14 The True Book Addict

Thursday, June 15 A Holland Reads

Sunday, June 18 Ageless Pages Reviews

Monday, June 19 Myths, Legends, Books & Coffee Pots (with excerpt)


Wednesday, June 21 Svetlana’s Reads and Views

Thursday, June 22 CelticLady’s Reviews

Friday, June 23 Book Nerd









Recommended Reading: Italian Historical Fiction

Saturday, June 17, 2017


Recommended Reading is a Saturday meme created by Bonnie at For the Love of Words.



To feel Florence and Venice come alive:
The Most Beautiful Woman in Florence: A Story of Botticelli by Alyssa Palombo
The Violinist of Venice: A Story of Vivaldi by Alyssa Palombo





For strong characters, convoluted political arcs, gladiators:
Mistress of Rome by Kate Quinn (The Empress of Rome #1)
Daughters of Rome by Kate Quinn (The Empress of Rome #2)
Empress of the Seven Hills by Kate Quinn (The Empress of Rome #3)
Lady of the Eternal City by Kate Quinn (The Empress of Rome #4)






To witness plague in Venice and the last Medici:
The Venetian Bargain by Marina Fiorato
The Daughter of Siena by Marina Fiorato





To cover Rome's growth from trading post to a sprawling Empire:
Roma by Steven Saylor - from a trading post 700 B.C. to Augustus' victory
Empire by Steven Saylor - from the twilight of Augustus through the reign of Hadrian




To see the female side to the beginning of the Roman Empire:
I Am Livia by Phyllis T. Smith
Daughters of Palatine Hill by Phyllis T. Smith




A world where Rome endured as an Italian-based empire:
Roma Eterna by Robert Silverberg




Bonus nonfiction round:

SPQR: A History of Ancient Rome by Mary Beard








Top Ten Books We'd Recommend to Our Dads

Tuesday, June 13, 2017


Besides our devastating good looks, stellar wit, and excellent choice in best friends, Jessie and I have something in common. Our dads love an epic fantasy novel. Now, I can't speak for Jess, but my dad's a little...stuck in his ways. He likes what he likes, and what he likes are farmboys facing orcs. Wheel of Time, Sword of Truth, Shannara, if a young boy is discovering his magical destiny, my dad's in. Unfortunately, this is a trope that's seriously on the decline. So rather than watch him try to struggle through Game of Thrones, (Daddy, give it up. It's not for you,) here are five series I think he should try instead:
 

1. The Riftwar Cycle by Raymond E. Feist

Look, if we tried to start at the very beginning of the farm-boy fantasy, we'd be going back to Le Morte d'Arthur, but the real granddaddy of the genre is Lord of the Rings. I'm not recommending LotR to my enemies, much less my dad, so we're going to look at the world building of "The forgotten Tolkien", M.A.R. Barker. Far more interested in creating the linguistics and geography of the world than his own books, we're going to keep right on skipping forward until we hit Feist. In the same way that Wheel of Time is totally not LotR fanfic, Feist owes a great debt to Tรฉkumel and Empire of the Petal Throne.

With 30 books and 10 distinct series completed in 2013, there's no lack of content in the world. Covering the five Riftwars between rival dimensions Midermia and Kelewan, the books could be classified as science fantasy, something that's not always to my father's tastes, but the initial book Magician and its story of orphaned Pug rising to become a magician's apprentice by way of rescuing a princess from orcs? That'll slot into the WoT-shaped hole in a heart.


2. Greatcoats by Sebastien de Castell

A significantly more modern series than I've seen dad pick up, I actually think the humor of the opening prologue of Traitor's Blade will resonate both with him and with all classic fantasy fans. Our hero, waxing poetic on the honor and duty of the Greatcoats. To become one was his life long dream, his true purpose. And not only has he achieved that, he's become the head of the order, standing with his two best friends by his side. He urges you to imagine this, his life, what you would see, what wrong you would be fighting.

"They're fucking again."

Ah yes, our protector of truth, justice, and the fantasy country way has been reduced to nothing more than a bored door guard, waiting while his over-privileged employer finishes with his mistress after a round of fantasyViagra™. While we're a long way from The Two Rivers, Falcio's still got that noble, do-right spirit. There's a quest, a kid, a questionable sex scene all ripped from the old fantasy playbook. It's just done in a new way.

3. Reckoners by Brandon Sanderson

No one say the y-word and we might make it out of this. 

Steelheart seems like both an easy and a hard sell to my dad. Sure the setting isn't merry ole Englandia, but who is David if not Rand or Frodo? An orphan on a mission against a god. Unexpected magical powers. A wise mentor. A beautiful, clever love interest. Betrayal. What's more, it's witty, action packed, and most importantly, linear. The biggest problem with modern fantasy is the Martin effect, where 30 characters each have 30 balls in the air. This series, (and YA fantasy in general,) harken back to a time of "walk to this place and throw the ring in the fire/fight the devil/pull the sword from the stone". Reconers' superhero theme should be no sweat for a man who has seen ever iteration of the X-Men at least twice. But then there's the stigma of the age range and worse, the author. 

Me, Brandon Sanderson's greatest fan, (no Jess you can't edit that,) has a secret shame. And that shame's name is Chris and he provided half my DNA and he doesn't 

don't make me type it

He doesn't 

hedoesn'tlikeSanderson

*sob*

BUT, and this isn't just my fangirl coming out, I know he'd really like the book if he'd try it. Maybe I can trick him with an audio copy...


4. Redshirts by John Scalzi

This is the biggest swing on my list. I can't think of a single book my dad has ever read in his life like Redshirts. It's a standalone. It's sci-fi. It's humor. But, Dad's also a lifelong Trekkie and I think he would appreciate the story of Ensign Dahl, a lowly redshirt on the starship Intrepid, and his increasing fear of away missions that happen to feature the captain, chief science officer, and handsome lieutenant Kerensky. When those three are around, some low level crewman always ends up dead! It's a really interesting satire of Star Trek and its phony-baloney science, but it's also an exciting mystery and rife with battles on alien worlds. The time travel aspect could be a sell though.

I thought long and hard about putting Scalzi's epic space opera, Old Man's War in this position instead. I maintain it has the best lede in the history of the genre and in a lot of ways, I could describe John the way I've described the other fantasy main characters on this list. But in the end, I chose the one off for its instant connection to a family favorite tv show and because OMW's second half is dense as fuck.

5. Memory of Light by Robert Jordan 

Finish the goddamn series, man. What the hell? 

(She says, one book even further behind.)






1. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
My friends, I am ashamed. My dad is old and... he read the first three Harry Potters, liked them..... and then just never continued. I do not understand this on a basic level. I have issues not finishing series intentionally but HARRY POTTER.  AND AT THE BOOK WHERE THERE ARE BIG ASS DRAGONS CHASING CHILDREN AROUND. How am I related to this man.


2. Scifi besides Dune, especially Ann Aguirre's Sirantha Jax series
My dad is a big fan of the classics in SF/F -- aka a lot of old white dudes. My dad is a cool guy and a big reader, but he isn't known for trying something new once he finds something he likes. As a teen he read Dune, Dune Messiah, Children of Dune, and God-Emperor of Dune. Now he mainly rereads Herbert's even weirder SF but I would love him to try Jax. Her brash attitude, intelligence and capability would be a great fit for the man who calls Chani, Jessica, and Alia the best characters in Herbert's most famous series.


3. The Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne by Brian Staveley
You guys have likely never heard of me talk about this but I think I may like it juust a little bit. [/sarcasm font] I think this would be an excellent choice for my dad because a. ninjas on giant birds fucking shit up b. big cast spread across a large world c. lots of action and battles c. morally grey characters, and d. fantastic worldbuilding. All of this (minus a because seriously who else has ninjas on giant birds?) is pretty similar to my dad's all-time favorite fantasy series: Malazan Book of the Fallen. Slightly more poetic and vastly less philosophical, though.


4. Ilium/Olympos by Dan Simmons
I get my love of history from my dad, which is why I think he would enjoy seeing a classic legend [The Iliad] updated and played out on Mars. The Trojan War as played out by actors and recorded and modified -- it's fun and allows for entirely new versions of the famous decade-long war.


5. A Memory of Light by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson

FINISH THE SERIES, DAD.
I get to be superior because apparently I am the only one of the four who finished the damn 14-book long epic. WHICH MEANS I AM THE REAL NO. 1 SANDERFAN, DANI.





Two Minute Review: Mr. Right-Swipe by Ricki Shultz

Monday, June 12, 2017
Title: Mr. Right-Swipe
Author: Ricki Shultz
Genre: romance
Series: N/A
Pages: 304
Published: June 6 2017
Source: publisher for review
Rating: 3/5

Rae Wallace would rather drown in a vat of pinot greezh and be eaten by her own beagle than make another trip down the aisle--even if it is her best friend's wedding. She's too busy molding the minds of first graders and polishing that ol' novel in the drawer to waste time on any man, unless it's Jason Segel.

But when her be-fris stage an intervention, Rae is forced to give in. After all, they've hatched a plan to help her find love the 21st century way: online. She's skeptical of this electronic chlamydia catcher, but she's out to prove she hasn't been too picky with men.


However, when a familiar fella's profile pops up--the dangerously hot substitute teacher from work --Rae swipes herself right into a new problem... 




Short and not always sweet, Ricki Shultz's debut is a light-hearted and snarky contemporary romance. There's no denying that Mr. Right-Swipe is culturally recognizable and fun fluff. It's enjoyable in the way of a chic flick on a Wednesday during summer. It's entertainment you can turn your brain off and just sink into. There's nothing revelatory going on in the way of its plot or narrative -- we all know where and how Mr. Right-Swipe will end by the time the love interest is introduced. The fun with this romance and these characters is in the getting there of the Happily Ever After.

Mr. Right-Swipe's Rae Wallace has been dating forever. She's been married, divorced, and lied to. Rae is  #overit. Enter in two long-time best friends with reasons of their own for meddling in a singleton's lovelife and an obvious Tinder-standin and voila, you have the plot of Mr. Right-Swipe. Thanks to Rae's standards (surprisingly reasonable when she explains, see: bandshirts/intruments in profile pics.) and her strong voice it's often a funny read. Watching Rae try to relax and listen to her friends is basically watching Monica from Friends be breeezy. It's a bit too try-hard and a bit overacted but it makes for a good story.

It also must be said: there are too many in the narrative.








Ageless Discussions: Surprise Sequels

Saturday, June 10, 2017


I am, or like to think I am at least, pretty on top of what's publishing and when because I receive a fair number of ARCs and regularly read up on expected publications but also because of [gestures to bookish twitter in general]. But sometimes, despite all that general bookishness, all those cover reveals and death sweepstakes, there's a sneaky surprise waiting for me when I clean up my GR shelves, or check in on favorite author's Twitter.

I'm talking about those unexpected additions to series or standalones you thought already done, or a one-off. Or in other cases, it's been so long between books, the info that it was a series to begin with gets forgotten. It's possible, too, that sometimes a reader misses the announcement and subsequent publication (this was waaay more likely to happen to me before using Goodreads) of the new book. There are a few famous surprise sequels and then there are the random ones found when trawling Goodreads at 1am on a Tuesday.




However they come about, I've been hit with surprise sequels a fair few times in my life. I've noticed it happening more and more as authors revisit prior favorites and bestsellers. Sometimes these additional books are appreciated -- they add to the previous story's world/characters/etc., but sometimes... they end up just feeling unnecessary, or in the worst cases, they can ruin the impression left behind from the first. My feelings toward surprise sequels are mixed: if there's room in the overall plot for more exploration, have at it. If it's a cash grab (coughCassandraClarecough) I am much less receptive or likely to read. I also have to admit the publication of To Kill a Mockingbird's "sequel" Go Set a Watchman after Harper Lee's death seemed... inappropriate.

Known Surprise Sequels:
Not a Drop to Drink (2013) and In a Handful of Dust (2015) by Mindy McGinnis
The Summerhouse (2001) and Summerhouse II Return to Summerhouse (2008) by Jude Deveraux
To Kill a Mockingbird (1960) and Go Set a Watchman (2015) by Harper Lee
[also: maybe the first time Jude Deveraux has been listed in the same post as Harper Lee?])
A Wicked Thing (2015) and Kingdom of Ashes (2016) by Rhiannon Thomas
Shadows on the Moon (2011) and Barefoot on the Wind (2016) by Zoe Marriott
Catch-22 (1961) and Closing Time (1994) by Joseph Heller
The Shining (1977) and Doctor Sleep (2013) by Stephen King
The Two Princesses of Bamarre (2001) and surprise prequel! The Lost Kingdom of Bamarre (2017) by Gail Carson Levine 



Some of these are entirely my fault for not checking (The Great Boyfriend Trap -- how did I not find that as a kid?!) for additional books by the author/in the series. But others, like Doctor Sleep and Go Set a Watchman, come decades after the original novel. That's a surprise if I ever saw one.




Have you ever found an extension to a series you thought over? Or should some stories stay standalones/unextended? Have you read any of these?



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Copyright © 2015 Ageless Pages Reviews. All Rights Reserved.

Amelia Theme by The Lovely Design CO and These Paper Hearts.